Josh Strang Takes Virginia Full Gas Sprint Enduro Win

First win for Aussie off-road star in almost two years

Josh Strang grabbed a big win at this weekend's Lake Sugar Tree Sprint Enduro in Axton, Virginia. It was his first win in the Kenda Full Gas Sprint Enduro Series since August 15, 2016. The Rockstar Energy Husqvarna rider edged KR4 Husqvarna's Layne Michael by 17 seconds to claim the "W," while Rockstar/Leatt/Maxxis Husqvarna's Ryan Sipes finished third.

Braxton McGee won the Pro 2 division, ahead of Cole Mattison and Billy Schlag. Meanwhile, Tayla Jones topped the Women’s Pro class ahead of Mackenzie Tricker and Brooke Cosner.

After the race, Josh Strang said he had been working on staying off the rear brake. It seems to have worked as he claimed his first win in the series in almost two years. Strang said he went through five sets of rear brake pads at the last race at Harleywood, plus he changed out a rear brake line. At Lake Sugar Tree, he didn’t even change pads.Shan Moore
Braxton McGee claimed his first-ever win in the Pro 2 division. The North Carolinian seems to be riding a steep curve. His first-ever podium came at the previous race in Harleywood.Shan Moore
Evan Smith topped the Pro class standings on Saturday. However, the SRT Racing Husqvarna rider threw a chain in test four on Sunday, which took him out of the running for the overall win.Shan Moore
Jordan Ashburn obviously liked the muddy conditions on Saturday judging from the fact that he won the opening test of the weekend. The Beta USA-backed Pennsylvania rider finished the weekend in fifth overall.Shan Moore
Rockstar/Leatt/Maxxis Husqvarna’s Ryan Sipes won five of the six Cross tests over the weekend. Sipes had won every Cross test of the season up until this weekend. His third in the final Cross test of the weekend thwarted his attempt to win every Cross test of the year.Shan Moore
KR4 Husqvarna’s Layne Michael won two of the Enduro tests en route to second overall.Shan Moore
Liam Draper launches his Husqvarna down the ultra-fast downhill on Saturday. The KR4-backed rider finished sixth in the Pro 2 class.Shan Moore
Grant Baylor was in contention for the overall win after Saturday, but several crashes relegated the Tely Racing KTM rider to fourth overall.Shan Moore
Beta USA’s Mike Witkowski claimed his best finish of the season in seventh.Shan Moore
Steward Baylor had an off weekend and finished fifth.Shan Moore

2018 Virginia Sprint Enduro Results

Position Rider Brand
1 Josh Strang Husqvarna
2 Layne Michael Husqvarna
3 Ryan Sipes Husqvarna
4 Grant Baylor KTM
5 Jordan Ashburn Beta
6 Steward Baylor KTM
7 Mike Witkowski Beta
8 Mario Testa KTM
9 Evan Smith Husqvarna
10 James Justice KTM

2018 Pro Class Championship Point Standings

Position Rider Brand Points
1 Ryan Sipes Husqvarna 141
2 Josh Strang Husqvarna 134 |  
3 Steward Baylor KTM 128
4 Layne Michael Husqvarna 112
5 Grant Baylor KTM 111
6 Jordan Ashburn Beta 106
7 Evan Smith Husqvarna 100
8 Mike Witkowski Beta 79
9 Mario Testa KTM 25
10 Russell Bobbitt KTM 24