2010 GEICO EnduroCross Wraps Up In Las Vegas! - Monday Race Report - Dirt Rider Magazine

It's official: KTM's Taddy Blazusiak is your 2010 GEICO EnduroCross champion. Are we surprised? Not really; the Polish trials ace-turned-hard-enduro-specialist had a dominant season, winning all but one round of the series en route to the title.

At the final round of action in Las Vegas, the Orleans Arena again watched Blazusiak dominate the field in the main event, beating out Christini /GEICO KTM's Geoff Aaron and a hard-charging Cody Webb. Blazusiak got the day started off by barely edging out Monster Kawasaki rider Justin Soule to set the fastest time during the Pioneer hot laps that puts the riders on the track by themselves for a single lap against the clock. Geoff Aaron had the third fastest time. Those three riders earned the first picks for the heat races and all three also earned quick trips to the main event by winning their respective heats.

Geoff Aaron got aggressive on the start of the main event and pushed Blazusiak a little wide to take the Girardi Wealth Management $750 Holeshot award, but Taddy fought back quickly to take the lead. Aaron stayed close for most of the race to keep Taddy honest but ultimately lost touch. That allowed Taddy to edge away and take the win. Cody Webb appeared to have third locked up but Lucas Oil backed Colton Haaker worked his way through the pack to take the position but then had an ugly trip over the bars and ultimately finished fifth. Mike Brown and Justin Soule also fought for the final podium spot but both had their own issues to ultimately finish fourth and sixth respectively. Kyle Redmond, Jamie Lanza, Cory Graffunder, Kevin Rookstool and Destry Abbot finished seventh to eleventh.

GEICO EnduroCross also includes three support classes at each event and the top finishers from the five previous rounds as well as the Vegas daytime qualifiers earned the right to compete for AMA number one plates. Ty Davis rode his Husqvarna to the 35+ vet class win over Tod Sciacqua and Kurt Nichol. Luke Reynolds survived a last lap crash in the rock pile to win the Open Amateur class over Mark Mcgregor and Ryan Sandoval. Multi time AMA Trials champion Patrick Smage won the TrialsCross championship over Bryan Roper and Shad Petersen.This season of EnduroCross was nothing short of epic, and there are big things in store for the series-and the sport-in 2011. Stay tuned to Dirt Rider for an exclusive feature on EnduroCross written by a special guest pro.

2010 Las Vegas, NV GEICO EnduroCross Expert Class results:
1. Taddy Blazusiak|KTM
2. Geoff Aaron|Christini KTM
3. Cody Webb|Gas Gas
4. Mike Brown|KTM
5. Colton Haaker|Kawasaki
6. Justin Soule|Kawasaki
7. Kyle Redmond|Kawasaki
8. Jamie Lanza|Kawasaki
9. Cory Graffunder|Husqvarna
10. Kevin Rookstool|KTM
11. Destry Abbott|Kawasaki
2010 GEICO EnduroCross Expert Class final points:
1. Taddy Blazusiak|KTM
2. Geoff Aaron|Christini KTM
3. Justin Soule|Kawasaki
4. Cory Graffunder|Husqvarna
5. Kyle Redmond|Kawasaki
6. Gary Sutherlin|Kawasaki
7. Colton Haaker|Kawasaki
8. Kevin Rookstool|KTM
9. Cody Webb|Gas Gas
10. Mike Brown|KTM