Thad Duvall Takes Grassman National Enduro Win

Husqvarna rider returns to action with a big win

In spite of missing the previous two rounds due to injury, Thad Duvall returned to action with a huge win at the Grassman National Enduro in Zanesville, Ohio. The Rockstar Energy Husqvarna rider won four of the six tests and finished the 65-mile race with a one-minute 36-second advantage over runner-up Steward Baylor. FMF KTM Josh Toth finished third, just five seconds behind Baylor, while KR4 Racing’s Cory Buttrick brought his Husqvarna in for fourth overall. Ben Kelley rounded out the top five after destroying his front rotor in the final test. Here’s a look at the race thanks to photographer Shan Moore.

Thad Duvall finished second in tests one and two and then cranked up the heat to win the final four tests of the day in a dominating performance that gave the Rockstar Energy Husqvarna rider his first win of the season.Shan Moore
Josh Toth battled with KTM teammate Ben Kelley for most of the day over second place, however an uncharacteristically “off” performance in the final test cost the Connecticut rider second place, losing out on the position by five seconds to Steward Baylor.Shan Moore
Steward Baylor took control of the Kenda AMA National Enduro Series point standings with his runner-up finish. The Tely Energy KTM rider came into the race tied with Josh Toth over first place at 123 points each.Shan Moore
Grant Baylor won the first test of the day, putting him in great position to win. However, the Tely Energy KTM rider missed a turn on the transfer to the second test and was three minutes late starting the test, which dropped the South Carolina rider out of contention for the win.Shan Moore
Ben Kelley held second place for much of the race, but tagged a tree in the final test and blew up his front brake rotor. The Trail Jesters Racing KTM rider still managed a sixth overall finish.Shan Moore
Eight-time National Enduro Champ Mike Lafferty rode the 1997 KTM 250 EXC that he used to win his first enduro title. Lafferty told Dirt Rider that riding the bike brought back a lot of memories.Shan Moore
KR4 Husqvarna’s Cory Buttrick turned in one of his best finishes of the season with a fourth overall finish.Shan Moore
Evan Smith rarely finishes outside the top-10, but the SRT Racing Husqvarna rider struggled in the slick conditions and finished 12th.Shan Moore
Tayla Jones continued her win streak, taking the win in the Women’s Elite division by 13 minutes over Mackenzie Tricker.Shan Moore
Josh Toth continues to push Steward Baylor for the top spot in the Kenda AMA National Enduro series title chase.Shan Moore

Grassman National Enduro Overall Results

Position Rider Brand
1 Thad Duvall Husqvarna
2 Steward Baylor KTM
3 Josh Toth KTM
4 Cory Buttrick Husqvarna
5 Grant Baylor KTM
6 Ben Kelley KTM
7 Craig DeLong Husqvarna
8 Mike Witkowski Beta
9 Russell Bobbitt KTM
10 Andrew Delong GasGas

2018 Kenda AMA National Enduro Point Standings

Position Rider Brand Points
Steward Baylor KTM 148
2 Josh Toth KTM 144
3 Grant Baylor KTM 107
Ben Kelley KTM 107
5 Cory Buttrick Husqvarna 95
6 Evan Smith Husqvarna 80
9 Thad Duvall Husqvarna 76
7 Andrew Delong GasGas 71
10 Mike Witkowski Beta 57
10 Russell Bobbitt KTM 53