Ryan Sipes Takes the Narrowest of Victories at Kenda Full Gas Sprint Enduro

Sipes edges Baylor for Virginia Sprint Enduro win

As expected, series point leader Ryan Sipes dominated the Cross test, winning all three of Sunday’s runs by 11-12 seconds.Darrin Chapman

Rockstar/Leatt/Maxxis Husqvarna's Ryan Sipes capitalized on his Supercross and motocross skills to claim his second win in a row in the Kenda Full Gas Sprint Enduro Series in Bristol, Virginia, where he edged Tely Energy Racing KTM's Grant Baylor by 1.5 seconds after two days of racing. In all, Sipes won six of the 12 tests en route to his win, while Baylor won three tests to secure second.

Rockstar Energy Husqvarna’s Josh Strang rounded out the podium, finishing the event less then a minute behind Baylor, while KR4 Husqvarna’s Layne Michael and Tely Racing’s Steward Baylor were fourth and fifth.

Beta USA’s Jordan Ashburn was fourth at the end of Saturday’s round, but was a little off the pace in Sunday’s slick conditions and slipped to sixth overall after the weekend.Darrin Chapman
Josh Strang won the first Enduro test of the weekend and finished the Virginia round in third overall.Darrin Chapman
KR4 Husqvarna’s Tayla Jones took the Women’s Pro win by about 40 seconds over Bonanza Plumbing/Trail Jesters KTM’s Mackenzie Tricker.Darrin Chapman
KTM-mounted JoJo Bowden rounded out the top 10 overall and was second in the Pro2 division.Darrin Chapman
KR4 Husqvarna’s Liam Draper won the Pro2 class with an impressive eighth overall finish. Draper leads the Pro2 class point standings.Darrin Chapman
Evan Smith has been a solid top-10 performer all year and put his SRT Racing Husqvarna into seventh in Virginia.Darrin Chapman
Grant Baylor miscalculated the start time for the first Enduro test of the day and had to start several classes behind the Pro division. The Tely Energy Racing KTM rider still managed to win the overall on Saturday.Darrin Chapman
Former ISDE team member Layne Michael won an Enduro test on Sunday en route to fourth overall for the weekend.Darrin Chapman

Virginia Sprint Enduro Results

Position Rider Brand Time
1 Ryan Sipes Husqvarna 01:19:50.151
2 Grant Baylor Husqvarna 01:19:51.698
3 Josh Strang Husqvarna 01:20:11.487
4 Layne Michael Husqvarna 01:20:14.062
5 Steward Baylor KTM 01:20:29.051
6 Jordan Ashburn Beta 01:20:42.620
7 Evan Smith Husqvarna 01:21:47.653
8 Liam Draper Husqvarna 01:23:23.951
9 Mike Witkowski Beta 01:24:09.384
10 JoJo Bowden KTM 01:24:15.403
Mike Witkowski on the gas in the Enduro test. The Beta USA-backed rider finished a solid ninth overall.Darrin Chapman

2018 Pro Class Championship Point Standings

Position Rider Brand Points
1 Ryan Sipes Husqvarna 106
2 Steward Baylor KTM 95
3 Josh Strang Husqvarna 79 |  
4 Grant Baylor KTM 77
Layne Michael Husqvarna 71
6 Jordan Ashburn Beta 69
7 Evan Smith Husqvarna 59
8 Mike Witkowski Beta 52
9 Russell Bobbitt KTM 24