MXGP of Indonesia Day One Recap

Results for the MXGP and MX2 and Women's Classes

MXGP Indonesia
Rains from the night before left the track muddy and ultimately led to the management deciding that the Free Practice timing results would serve as Sunday's gate pick.Photo Courtesy of MXGP

The MXGP of Indonesia took place in Pangkal Pinang, Indonesia this past weekend after a heavy overnight rainfall took place in the region. These conditions made the track very muddy for the MX2 Free Practice followed by MXGP Free Practice. To preserve the track, a unanimous decision was made by the event management team to take the Free Practice timing results as Sunday's gate pick in turn eliminating time practices and qualifying races held in the afternoon. In MXGP, Wilvo yamaha MXGP's Shaun Simpson was the fastest of the day and HSF Logistics Motorsport Team's Brian Bogers sits pole for MX2 race 1.

Brian Bogers MX2 Free Practice
Brian Bogers took the MX2 Free Practice number 1 position in Indonesia.Photo Courtesy of MXGP

MXGP Free Practice Top 10:
1. Shaun Simpson (GBR, Yamaha), 2:39.774
2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:01.115
3. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:02.326
4. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:03.956
5. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:04.134
6. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, Suzuki), +0:04.490
7. Valentin Guillod (SUI, Honda), +0:04.702
8. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, Honda), +0:05.304
9. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +0:05.494
10. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:05.906

MX2 Free Practice Top 10:
1. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), 2:16.331
2. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Suzuki), +0:04.786
3. Davy Pootjes (NED, KTM), +0:06.233
4. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, KTM), +0:06.304
5. Adam Sterry (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:06.755
6. Benoit Paturel (FRA, Yamaha), +0:06.838
7. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), +0:08.767
8. Michele Cervellin (ITA, Honda), +0:11.425
9. Freek van der Vlist (NED, KTM), +0:12.311
10. Iker Larranaga Olano (ESP, Husqvarna), +0:14.325

MXGP Indonesia Womens Class
The women also took their turn in the mud with Nancy Van De Ven taking the top, followed by Nicky van Wordragen and Anne Borchers.Photo Courtesy of MXGP

Though the MXGP and MX2 classes were done, the women still had racing to do. The FIM Women’s Motocross World Championship started with Race 1. Nancy Van de Ven came out on a mission, Nancy made minimal errors leaving her with a 1 minute and 24 second lead across the finish. Nicky van Wordragen finished a well earned second followed by Anne Borchers from Germany. Title contenders Team One One Four’s Livia Lancelot and MXFonta Racing‘s Kiara Fontanesi had issues and look to rebound in time for Sunday’s Race 2.

WMX Race 1 Top 10:
1. Nancy Van De Ven (NED, Yamaha), 26:31.788
2. Nicky van Wordragen (NED, Yamaha), +1:24.993
3. Anne Borchers (GER, Suzuki), -1 lap(s)
4. Shana van der Vlist (NED, KTM), -1 lap(s)
5. Courtney Duncan (NZL, Yamaha), -1 lap(s)
6. Larissa Papenmeier (GER, Suzuki), -1 lap(s)
7. Elaine MacEachern (GBR, Husqvarna), -1 lap(s)
8. Amandine Verstappen (BEL, KTM), -2 lap(s)
9. Genette Vaage (NOR, KTM), -2 lap(s)
10. Virginie Germond (SUI, Yamaha), -2 lap(s)