Dirt Bike News - Darcy Lange wins National Arenacross Championship - Dirt Rider Magazine

February 21, 2004 - Clear Channel Entertainment's Motor Sports Division announced the 2003 - 2004 National Arenacross Series champion is Canadian rider, Darcy Lange, riding for Team Green Chevy Truck Pro Circuit Richmond Kawasaki. Coming into the weekend, Lange had an 85 point lead over second place Shogun Motorsports Factory Yamaha's Tommy Hofmaster, and after pulling out three main event wins and staying ahead of Hofmaster in three out of four main events, Lange earned enough points to secure the championship, with a lead of 97 points.Lange rode well all weekend and the championship came down to the 250cc main event on Saturday night. He led the first couple laps but then started to fall back and it looked like something was wrong. Lange landed hard and was in a little pain, and was 4 seconds behind the leader. He pushed his way back up to second place quickly, battling with John Dowd until the last lap. Coming around the last turn before the catapult jump finish line, Darcy passed Dowd for the win and put the entire crowd including his family, sponsors, and representatives from Kawasaki and teammates to their feet. A champagne celebration followed the awarding of the number one plate to the new champion.With just one round left in the twelve round series, the competition continues with the battle for third and fourth place with just 20 points separating current third place holder, John Dowd, and fourth place Justin Brayton. Tommy Hofmaster sits comfortably in the second place position with 84 points over Dowd. Hofmaster is currently in first place in the Dash for Cash points standings with 7 points over Darcy Lange. The final round will take place at Kemper Arena on Feb. 27 - 29, 2004. Log onto www.arenacross.com for more details.Current 125cc and 250cc Combined Points Standings:
Darcy Lange 775 points - 2004 National Arenacross Series Champion
Tommy Hofmaster 678 points
John Dowd 594 points
Justin Brayton 574 points
Brad Hagseth 526 points
Jeff Northrup 496 points
Josh Demuth 429 points
Chad Johnson 426 points
Ryan Huffman 290 points
Brad Modjewski 279 points
Buddy Antunez 234 points
Jeff Willoh 233 points
Shawn Clark 200 points
Jim Neese 159 points
Colt Humphrey 157 points