European Championships EMX125 Switzerland Race Report

That's a wrap for the MXEuro races in Switzerland

The final rounds of the European Championships EMX125 were all wrapped up in Frauenfeld-Gachnang, Switzerland, where our future stars were faced with a rutty and rugged man-made track, that had a good vibe about it which could be attributed to the noise and support coming from the nearly sold out grand stands that surround venue.

The newly crowned EMX125 presented by FMF Racing champion, Sahkar KTM’s Jago Geerts, rounded out the season the best way he knows how, with two race wins while Bud Racing Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Darian Sanayei also did the double for his second overall win of the season.

Jago Geerts Race Report at Switzerland
Jago Geerts and Darian Sanayei both had successful races in Switzerland.Photo Courtesy of MXEuro

The track at Frauenfeld-Gachnang suited Bud Racing Monster Energy Kawasaki's Darian Sanayei. The American star got off to a mega start and led every lap for his fifth race win of the season ahead of KTM Factory Juniors Josiah Natzke and the Czech wildcard Filip Neugebauer.

In Race 2, the defending champion, Nick Kouwenberg had his J-Tech Honda absolutely singing out of the gate and led the way around turn one before being passed by F&H Racing Team’s young talented Spaniard Ruben Fernandez, who had the race one winner, Bud Racing Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Darian Sanayei in his wake.

The American put the squeeze on Fernandez on lap two and checked out for his sixth race win of the season. Fernandez kept the power down in second; as Vaessen kept the fans on their toes with his flamboyant, yet loose at times, style.

As per usual, Vaessen had a yard sale and dropped back to sixth, which allowed Kouwenberg to inherit third. Running inside the top three ended up being short lived for Kouwenberg, as runner-up Josiah Natzke was on a hard charge and passed him like he was standing still.

Darian Sanayei places 1-1 at MXEuro Switzerland
Darian Sanayei (457) leads the pack and showed that he was comfortable with the track proven by his race results.Photo Courtesy of MXEuro

Natzke, on a clear mission, went after Fernandez for second, and took the spot in no time at all. Vaessen was on the bounce back, and took third away from the Spaniard before passing Natzke on one wheel for second place. Natzke took a chill pill and sat back in third while Fernandez mimicked that approach in fourth. Filip Neugenbauer on the other hand, was pushing to the max. He got inside the top five, then crashed and had to do it all again. Nevertheless, he got the job done and finished fifth.

Bud Racing Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Darian Sanayei rounded out the season with a double moto victory. It has been a long season for the rookie, KTM Factory Junior’s Josiah Natzke who landed on the podium for the first time this season ahead of the kid who won the last two rounds of the EMX250 championship, Team Suzuki World MX2’s Bas Vaessen.

Bodo Schmidt Motorsports’ Thomas Kjer Olsen was crowned European Champion last weekend at Lommel, therefore he didn’t race in the EMX250 class this weekend, instead he took the next natural step in his career and made his FIM Motocross World Championship MX2 debut. Bud Racing Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Darian Sanayei took home the silver medal, while Team Suzuki World MX2’s Bas Vaessen was awarded the bronze.

Darian Sanayei has 1-1 finish in Switzerland
Darian Sanayei had a 1-1 finish in Switzerland that leaves him with 373 points in the EMX250.Photo Courtesy of MXEuro

EMX250 Championship Top Ten:
1. Thomas Kjer Olsen (DEN, HUS) 404 points
2. Darian Sanayei (USA, KAW), 373 points
3. Bas Vaessen (NED, SUZ), 324 points
4. Anton Gole (SWE, HUS), 265 points
5. Kevin Wouts (BEL, KTM), 244 points
6. Miro Sihvonen (FIN, KTM), 223 points
7. Jorge Prado Garcia (ESP, KTM), 210 points
8. Nicolas Dercourt (FRA, KTM), 207 points
9. Hunter Lawrence (AUS, KAW), 167 points
10. Mike Stender (GER, SUZ), 145 points

In race one, Sahkar KTM's Jago Geerts wasted no time in taking the lead and checked out for his seventh race win of the season. Meanwhile Sander Agard-Michelsen put in a mind blowing ride for second after he passed Pierre Goupillon late in the race.

Race two got underway with an orange tsunami as four KTM riders made up the top five coming out of turn one. Pierre Goupillon had the early lead with Andrea Zanotti, Gianluca Facchetti, and Jago Geerts hot on him.

On lap two, hanging right off the back of his Sahkar KTM, Geerts passed Fachetti with such a rad move where he practically wheelied his way all the way through the wave section and kept a low line over the two doubles that followed to take third place. On that same lap, the newly crowned champ set the fastest lap time, which was two seconds faster than the next fastest rider, Goupillon.

Jago Geerts in Switzerland
Geerts ended up breaking through the hoard and secured a clear-cut win.Photo Courtesy of MXEuro

It wasn’t long before Geerts took the lead and rode off into the sunset for his tenth race win of the season. Meanwhile, Goupillon was on a mission to minimize errors, but still ended up throwing away second when he ghost rode his bike over a jump.

Bud Racing Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Kim Savaste didn’t get off to the best of starts but he knows how to twist a throttle and by lap four he was all over Fachetti for third. The duo banged bars for a lap before Savaste finally made a pass stick.

With five minutes to go, Facchetti decided he wasn’t quite done and made a move on Savaste to take back second place. Savaste responded immediately, and declared a game of cat and mouse that saw the duo swap the spot several times.

At the checkers, Geerts was the clear-cut winner while Savaste managed to have the final say in the battle for second. Facchetti was forced to settle for third, while Zanotti managed to hold off DP19 Yamaha’s hard charging Roan Van de Moosdijk for fourth.

Sahkar KTM’s Jago Geerts went 1–1 for the overall ahead of Bud Racing Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Kim Savaste who went 4–2 for second. Sander Agard-Michelsen made his first podium appearance with a 2–7 result landing him on the box in third.

Since this round was the final round of the European Championship EMX125 presented by FMF Racing, the final two medals were awarded after Sahkar KTM’s Jago Geerts took home the gold last weekend in Lommel. KTM Silver Action’s Stephen Rubini won four rounds of the championship, but had to sit out the final two rounds due to injury. Nonetheless, he finished the season as the vice champion with Pierre Goupillon finishing third.

Jago Gerts Switzerland
Geerts ended the day with a 1-1 finish which pushed him to 357 points overall.Photo Courtesy of MXEuro

EMX125 Presented by FMF Racing Championship Top Ten:
1. Jago Geerts (BEL, KTM), 357 points
2. Stephen Rubini (FRA, KTM), 248 points
3. Pierre Goupillon (FRA, KTM), 242 points
4. Gianluca Facchetti (ITA, KTM), 221 points
5. Roan Van De Moosdijk (NED, YAM), 215 points
6. Kim Savaste (FIN, KAW), 184 points
7. Mikkel Haarup (DEN, HUS), 175 points
8. Zachary Pichon (FRA, YAM), 168 points
9. Brian Strubhart Moreau (FRA, KAW), 155 points
10. Andrea Zanotti (SMR, KTM), 143 points