International Five Days Enduro? - Dirt Rider Magazine

It lasted only five days, but the 85th running of the International Six Days Enduro in Moreli, Mexico, was intriguing and intense. By all accounts the event was a tough one as riders spent the week battling against the elements in 6,000 feet of elevation, as the bone-dry ground, chocking dust, and rock-strewn course took its toll. However, a dust up by a local drug cartel on Friday night - after Day Five - put nerves on end and led to the final day being canceled.The week started badly for the U.S. Junior Trophy Team, as team member Cory Buttrick dropped out on Day One when he suffered multiple injuries after he was taken out by a fellow competitor in the dusty conditions.Despite Buttrick's retirement, the U.S. Junior Trophy Team finished on the podium, taking a well-deserved third behind strong performances by ISDE rookies Ian Blythe and Taylor Roberts, and second-year performer Nick Fahringer. Spain won the Junior Trophy with Sweden in second.


The week proceeding the event and the first five days of competition were relatively quiet as France rode to a strong overall win behind the performances of overall and E2 winner Johnny Aubert (pictured) and his teammates Nicolas Deparrois, Sebastien Guillaume, Antoine Meo, Rodrig Thain and Christophe Nambotin. Aubert was spectacular, posting the fastest overall time on all five days, topping E2 winner Antione Meo by nearly three minutes in overall time.



The US World Trophy Team (Kurt Caselli, Destry Abbott, Jimmy Jarrett, Nathan Woods, Timmy Weigand and Mike Brown) finished the event a credible fourth behind France, Italy and Finland. However, the U.S. squad would have certainly excelled in the final day's motocross test, which was canceled. Individually, Caselli (pictured) was fourth and Brown was sixth, and US Junior Trophy Team member Ian Blythe was seventh, in the E1 division.



Meanwhile, U.S. Women's Team of Nicole Bradford (pictured), Amanda Mastin and Kerri Swartz finished second behind France and ahead of Sweden. Bradford was fourth, Mastin was seventh and Swartz houred out on Day Four.



Mike Brown was riding his first ISDE in Mexico and he came away with a very respectable sixth in the E1 division on his KTM. Brown was also part of the US squad that finished fourth in the World Trophy division.

_The final day was canceled because of security concerns. According to local reports, suspected members of Mexico's La Familia drug gang launched violent reprisals following the arrest of two local leaders of the cartel in Morelia.A local news paper issued the following report: "Shortly after authorities announced the capture of two members of the La Familia cartel, men suspected of belonging to the cartel unleashed a wave of violence in Morelia, setting fire to cars and buildings, and blocking highways and major thoroughfares around the city. Local media reported that gang members also fired at police around the city and set fire to gas stations by throwing Molotov Cocktails."Ignacio Verneda, Motorcycling Sports Director, and President of the 2010 ISDE Organizing Committee Luis Otero made the following statements about their decision."This is 100% the correct decision, as in all cases the security and safety of everyone involved with the event is the most important consideration," said Verneda. "Although the risk was only very minimal, we prefer not to take any risk at all. In all cases the decision has been well accepted by the riders, the teams and all those associated with the event.

E1 - Final

1. Antoine Meo, France, Husqvarna

2. Eero Remes, Finland, KTM

3. Alex Salvini, Italy, Husqvarna

4. Kurt Caselli, USA KTM

5. Jari Mattila, Finland, Honda

6. Mike Brown, USA, KTM

7. Ian Blythe, USA, KTM

E2 - Final

1. Johnny Aubert, France, KTM

2. Juha Salminen Finland, Husqvarna

3. Thomas Oldrati, Italy, KTM

4. Manual Monni, Italy, Yamaha

5. Rodrig Thain, France, TM

6. Lorenzo Santolino

E3 - Final

1. Sebastien Guillaume, France, Husqvarna

2. Oriol Mena, Spain, Husaberg

3. Christoph Nambotin Gas-Gas

4. Simone Albergoni, Italy, KTM

5. Alessandro Botturi, Italy, Husaberg

6. Alessandro Belometti, Italy, KTM

7. Homero Diaz, Mexico, KTM

World Trophy

1: France 16.32:01.55

2: Italy 16.42:15.57

3: Finland16.46:38.30

4: USA 16.58:11.40

5: Poland 17.31:19.96

Junior Trophy

1: Spain 10.06:25.11

2: Sweden 10.12:19.95

3: USA 10.14:47.89

4: France 10.16:40.13

5: Finland 10.18:42.51

Women's Cup

1: France 7.44:56.08

2: USA 8.55:11.58

3: Sweden 9.00:22.88

4: Germany 16.27:47.28

5: Canada 16.42:57.73