Dirt Bike News - Chad Reed 2004 250cc THQ AMA Supercross Series Champion - Dirt Rider Magazine

Honda's Kevin Windham won his fifth THQ World Supercross GP/THQ AMA Supercross Series race at Sam Boyd Stadium before 37,942 fans, but Yamaha's Chad Reed captured his first 250cc championship. Kawasaki's James Stewart won the Dave Coombs Sr. 125cc East/West Shootout, capping off another stellar season for the 18-year old. Yamaha's Heath Voss won his first THQ World Supercross GP championship, bringing home $100,000.Top privateer Damon Huffman earned the $1,500 Butterfinger Holeshot Award, with Windham and Kawasaki's Michael Byrne following in second and third respectively. Windham moved into the lead after Huffman made a mistake in the timing section and Reed started fourth and moved into second on lap 2. Windham pulled away with the victory, Reed finished second and Honda's Mike LaRocco finished third. Huffman was awarded $25,000 from the United States Smokeless Tobacco Company, a Nissan Titan and a 26' trailer from Weekend Warrior for earning top privateer honors."Overall, this was a successful season for me, even though I didn't win the championship," said Windham. "This is my first year back in the supercross, so I am very happy with the way I finished.""This championship really means a lot to me," said Reed. "I know that a lot has happened this season, but sometimes you have to take a step back and look at things from a different perspective."In the 125cc main, Kawasaki's Stephane Roncada earned the $1,000 Butterfinger Holeshot Award with Suzuki's Broc Hepler and Stewart in tow. Stewart moved into second place on the opening lap and traded positions with early leader Roncada several times before making the final pass for the lead on lap six. Honda's Nathan Ramsey passed 125cc Western Regional THQ AMA Supercross Series champion on the white-flag lap for third place. The win marked Stewart's seventh of the season."This was a great race with Stephane (Roncada)," said Stewart. "Last year I had a bad crash here and it's nice to come back and get the won for the Las Vegas fans. Next season I am going to be here on a 250cc."THQ AMA Supercross Series Dave Coombs Sr. 125cc East/West Shootout Results
1. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Kawasaki
2. Stephane Roncada, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Kawasaki
3. Nathan Ramsey, Menifee, Calif., Honda
4. Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki
5. Davi Millsaps, Cairo, Ga., Suzuki
6. Broc Hepler, Kittanning, Pa., Suzuki
7. Joshua Hansen, Elbert, Colo., Yamaha
8. Danny Smith, Middleton, Idaho, Yamaha
9. Troy Adams, Brooksville, Fla., Kawasaki
10. Brock Sellards, Sherrodsville, Ohio, Yamaha
THQ AMA Supercross Series 125cc Western Regional Season Standings
1. Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 197
2. Nathan Ramsey, Menifee, Calif., Honda, 147
3. Stephane Roncada, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Kawasaki, 138
4. Brock Sellards, Sherrodsville, Ohio, Yamaha, 127
5. Travis Preston, Hesperia, Calif., Honda, 117
6. Greg Schnell, Rancho Cucamonga, Calif., Yamaha, 90
7. Andrew Short, Colorado Springs, Colo., Suzuki, 89
8. Troy Adams, Brooksville, Fla., Kawasaki, 79
9. Joshua Summey, Stanley, N.C., Yamaha, 67
10. Joshua Hansen, Elbert, Colo., Yamaha, 60
THQ AMA Supercross Series 125cc Eastern Regional Season Standings
1. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Kawasaki, 150
2. Broc Hepler, Kittanning, Pa., Suzuki, 99
3. Danny Smith, Middleton, Idaho, Yamaha, 98
4. Paul Carpenter, Ithaca, N.Y., Kawasaki, 90
5. Kelly Smith, Ludington, Mich., Yamaha, 85
6. Ryan Mills, Clintondale, N.Y., Honda, 79
7. Steve Lamson, Camino, Calif., Honda, 78
8. Bret Metcalfe, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 74
9. David Millsaps, Cairo, Ga., Suzuki, 66
10. Eric Sorby, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 59
THQ World Supercross Series/THQ AMA Supercross Series Event Results, Las Vegas
1. Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda
2. Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Yamaha
3. Mike LaRocco, Corona, Calif., Honda
4. David Vuillemin, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha
5. Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., Suzuki
6. Sean Hamblin, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki
7. Heath Voss, Mico, Texas, Yamaha
8. Damon Huffman, Valencia, Calif., Honda
9. Craig Anderson, Riverside, Calif., Honda
10. Keith Johnson, Albuquerque, N.M., Yamaha
THQ AMA Supercross Series Season Standings
1. Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Yamaha, 333
2. Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda, 321
3. Mike LaRocco, Corona, Calif., Honda, 290
4. David Vuillemin, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 253
5. Michael Byrne, Temecula, Calif., Kawasaki, 191
6. Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., Suzuki, 188
7. Heath Voss, Mico, Texas, Yamaha, 180
8. Sean Hamblin, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki, 155
9. Damon Huffman, Valencia, Calif., Honda, 145
10. Grant Langston, Lake Elsinore, Calif., KTM, 111
THQ World Supercross GP Season Standings
1. Heath Voss, Mico, Texas, Yamaha, 346
2. Damon Huffman, Valencia, Calif., Honda, 322
3. Tyler Evans, Canyon Lake, Calif., Suzuki, 276
4. Ryan Clark, Albuquerque, N.M., Yamaha, 230
5. Grant Langston, Temecula, Calif., KTM, 228
6. Keith Johnson, Albuquerque, N.M., Yamaha, 178
7. Jason Thomas, Melrose, Fla., Honda, 160
8. Isaiah Johnson, Albuquerque, N.M., Yamaha, 142
9. Andrew Short, Colorado Springs, Colo., Suzuki, 138
10. Joe Oehlhof, Hesperia, Calif., Honda, 128
KTM Junior Supercross Challenge
1. Nathan Abila, Murrieta, Calif.
2. Lucas Serrecchia, Hesperia ,Calif.
3. Colby Maxwell, Show Low, Ariz.
4. Payton Coffman, Abilene, Texas
5. Seth Harnishfeger, Bowling Green, Ohio
6. Travis Hoffman, San Diego, Calif.
7. Cole Varty, Alberta, Canada
8. Kyle Kirchner, Dalton, Mass.
9. Wyatt Cross, Bentonville, Ark.
10. Teddy McAninch, Edgewood, Minn.
11. James Norris, Deerpack, Texas
12. Shane Pico, Lake Elsinore, Calif.
13. Lindsay Robinson, Marion, N.C.
14. Kailey Elliot-Thain, Temecula, Calif.
15. Chase Nanney, Henderson, Nev.