What Really Happened & Results: Houston Supercross - Dirt Rider Magazine

Not only was the Houston round of the Monster Energy AMA Supercross series a historic one - with Ryan Villopoto wrapping up his second consecutive 450-class title sooner then any other rider in the history of the series (there are still four rounds left on the schedule), but it was an eventful race as well, with several key crashes, weird post-race antics by a high-profile rider, and one of the best battles we have seen all year, courtesy of Kevin Windham and James Stewart.Villopoto came into the round with a whopping 94-point lead over Stewart in the championship chase, and needed to win and for Stewart to finish off the podium for him to clinch the title early. All week Stewart had been unsure if he would compete in the Houston round, due to the injuries he suffered two weeks before. When the news broke on Friday that the JGRMX rider would indeed ride the in Houston, it was reasonable to think that Villopoto would have to wait until New Orleans two weeks later to wrap things up. After all, most everyone figured Stewart could get on the podium. But, as the old adage goes, that's why they line 'em up and race 'em.When all was said and done, Villopoto came away from the Houston round with his eighth win of the season and back-to-back Supercross titles, making him only the fifth rider ever to do so. Granted, Chad Reed and Ryan Dungey have both been sitting on the sidelines for much of the season, but no one can deny the speed and domination that Villopoto has displayed in 2012.

Read the full story "What Really Happened: Houston SX" by clicking here or the image below.

Official Monster Energy AMA Supercross Results

Supercross Class Results

1. Ryan Villopoto (Kaw)

2. Davi Millsaps (Yam)

3. Jake Weimer (Kaw)

4. Mike Alessi (Suz)

5. Justin Brayton (Hon)

6. Robert Kiniry (Yam)

7. Broc Tickle (Kaw)

8. Nico Izzi (Yam)

9. Weston Peick (Kaw)

10. Josh Grant (Kaw)Lites/250 Results

1. Ken Roczen (KTM)

2. Justin Barcia (Hon)

3. Blake Baggett (Kaw)

4. Blake Wharton (Suz)

5. Phillip Nicoletti (Hon)

6. Alex Martin (Hon)

7. Jake Canada (Hon)

8. Darryn Durham (Kaw)

9. Justin Bogle (Hon)

10. Matthew Lemoine (Kaw)