Rockstar Makita Suzuki's Reed Wins Daytona, Takes Back Championship Points Lead - Dirt Rider Magazine

Round 10 - AMA Supercross Series
Daytona Beach, Florida
Daytona International Speedway
March 7, 2009
Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing's Chad Reed won his second, consecutive AMA Supercross race, thanks to a Daytona International Speedway victory in Daytona Beach, Florida, on Saturday night. This result means the two-time, defending AMA Supercross Champion recaptured the overall points lead in the title chase. Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing teammate Mike Alessi led several laps in the 20-lap main before finishing an impressive fourth place. Unfortunately, Rockstar Makita Suzuki's Michael Byrne was taken out in a turn-one melee and the Australian rider was unable to finish the race.In the Supercross Lites class, Rockstar Makita Suzuki's Nico Izzi continues to battle for the title by picking up another podium finish. The young rider won his qualifying heat race and then overcame a rough start to finish on the podium. Izzi worked his way through the field to bring home third place. Currently, he is in second place in the overall championship points chase.Chad Reed:
"This weekend was great, having two wins in a row. I worked my way up to my teammate MikeAlessi and about midway through the race, I just put my head down and tried to get it done. I didn't feel like I was being as aggressive as I should have been to make passes quick. So I just tried to pay attention to the times and try to make up a few seconds per lap. I feel good about the title chase and I'll take one point and I believe we got 11. It's a long season and we have a lot of races to go... Two wins in a row is awesome... You have to take it one race at a time, and we'll do our work this week and come out next week to hopefully get a win."Mike Alessi:
"Daytona was good - in my heat race I got a great start but I fell on the first lap. I got up and tried to charge hard, and went from about 10th or so to fifth. In the main, I got a great start, I got the holeshot on my Rockstar Makita Suzuki RM-Z450 and ran in first for two laps and then settled into a pretty good pace. I ran in second for a long time, but toward the middle of the race I backed off a little to save something for the end, and my teammate got by me. I started charging again but then another rider came up the inside and totally cleaned me out. I got up and the bike was still running and I was able to get fourth."Nico Izzi:
"This was a tough race, probably the toughest night I've had so far. I think I'm going to go home and sleep for a whole day. But I was just trying to get to the front on my Rockstar Makita Suzuki RM-Z250 and I was trying to get up into the top five. I got out of shape a couple of times but I just tried to be aggressive and I just never quit. I'm happy to stay on the box and I just want to keep on getting on the podium and hopefully we can make some headway in the championship."Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing will race next at the Superdome in New Orleans, Louisiana, on Saturday, March 14, 2009.Chad Reed, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing RM-Z450, #1
1st Place - Daytona Supercross
1st Place - Overall Championship Points Standings****Mike Alessi, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing RM-Z450, #800
4th Place - Daytona Supercross
8th Place - Overall Championship Points Standings****Michael Byrne, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing RM-Z450, #26
DNF - Daytona Supercross
NA - Overall Championship Points Standings****Nico Izzi, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing RM-Z250, #20
3rd Place - Daytona Supercross Lites
2nd Place -- Overall Championship Points Standings****AMA Supercross Top 10 Finishers:
1. Chad Reed, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing

2. Jason Lawrence, Yamaha
3. Davi Millsaps, Honda
4. Mike Alessi, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing (Holeshot)
5. Kevin Windham, Honda
6. Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
7. James Stewart, Yamaha
8. Andrew Short, Honda
9. Ryan Sipes, KTM
10. Thomas Hahn, KawasakiAMA Supercross Lites Top 10 Finishers:
1. Christophe Pourcel, Kawasaki
2. Martin Davalos, KTM
3. Nico Izzi, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing
4. Matt Lemoine, Yamaha
5. Wil Hahn, KTM
6. Matt Goerke, Suzuki
7. Darryn Durham, Yamaha
8. Broc Tickle, Yamaha
9. Blake Wharton, Honda
10. Kyle Keylon, Honda* Steven Clarke, Suzuki (Holeshot)