Lafferty Wins Alligator Enduro - Dirt Rider Magazine

Daytona Beach, FL - Shock Doctor/KTM Factory Team rider Mike Lafferty won his first AMA National Enduro of the season at the third round of the series while his teammate Russell Bobbitt also finished on the podium in the 2nd place position.Lafferty, the eight-time National Enduro Champion, started strong from the very first test and stayed consistently fast all day. Lafferty was the rider to beat in almost every test turning the fastest time in the majority of the special test sections. While Lafferty was lighting the fire out on the track, someone had started a fire, literally, near the 4th special test. The fire moved so fast that many riders were forced to retire early from the race as it was not safe for them to continue in the hazardous conditions. "The fire came some time shortly after the majority of the A riders came through the fourth section, so I actually didn't know anything was wrong until I returned back to the pits," remarked Lafferty.The current champion and 2nd place finisher for the day, Russell Bobbitt, stated, "I felt good in some sections but then horrible in others. I definitely knew where I was doing well and where I needed to pick up my pace. I am glad to finish 2nd overall today and maintain my points lead."The next event is scheduled for March 29, 2009 in Lafayette, LA.Overall Results1) Mike Lafferty - KTM
2) Russell Bobbitt - KTM
3) Wally Palmer
4) Jason Raines
5) Carsten Cagle - KTM
6) Brad Bakken - KTM
7) Nick Fahringer
8) Ian Blythe - KTM
9) Cole Kirkpatrick - KTM
10) Aaron Wegner