Round 2 AMA National Hare & Hound - Dirt Rider Magazine

The 2nd Round of the west coast AMA National Hare & Hound Series was hosted by District 37's "4 Aces Motorcycle Club". This was the 59th annual running of the Moose Run which was held in the Spangler Hills, Ca. OHV area.Racers love when it rains in the desert, especially the night before a race! The wet dirt brought out hundreds of riders for this annual event. The windy conditions at the 9:00am start time made for an interesting banner drop. The bomb run start headed east into the shining sun and it would be a fast, dustless 2 miles until the riders would see the start of the ribboned trail. The first 40-mile loop would be a fast one, heading northeast before turning south towards Spangler Hills, then heading west and crossing over Trona Road, then looping back around to pit row.The lead riders into the pits were Russ Pearson on a KTM, followed by Destry Abbott - Monster/Kawasaki, Morgan Crawford - Blais Racing/KTM, David Kamo - KTM, Gary Sutherlin - Husqvarna, David Pearson - KTM, Nick Burson - Husqvarna, & Jacob Argubright - Kawasaki.Loop 2 would bring it's challenges, with it's virgin, single-track and very rocky terrain. A lot of riders experienced some crashes and other issues during the next 40 miles. Out of the pits, Russ Pearson had a bad crash which caused him and his bike to cartwheel. Russ's bike would later seize up, causing him a DNF. Destry Abbott finished 9th overall after crashing and experiencing a possible broken wrist. Morgan Crawford tipped over, causing his clutch master cylinder to go out, forcing him to ride almost the entire second loop without a clutch but still finishing 6th overall. Ty Davis also had some issues of his own, causing him to DNF during loop 1 and young rider Justin Imhof would suffer a broken collar bone just after the bomb run.This race would be David Kamo's first overall win in this series on his factory KTM. The Utah native was more than excited at the finish line and stated he also had a bad crash, sending him over the bars. He pulled himself together to push forward for the win. Congrats David!Round 3 will take place on Sunday, March 15th, in the Superstition OHV area of San Diego County, Ca.1.David Kamo - KTM
2.David Pearson - KTM
3.Jake Argubright - Kawasaki
4.Nick Burson - Husqvarna
5.Matt Henderson - Kawasaki
6.Morgan Crawford - KTM
7.Dylan Murdock - Kawasaki
8.Zach Dodson - KTM
9.Destry Abbott - Kawasaki
10.Ryan Kudla - Kawasaki