Bobbitt Wins First National Enduro - Dirt Rider Magazine

Wedgefield, SC - Factory KTM rider and reigning National Enduro Champion, Russell Bobbitt, proved just how he won the Championship crown in 2008 after a remarkable first place ride at the first round of the 2009 AMA National Enduro Series.Bobbitt started the day off strong and continued to increase his lead on the field eventually winning three of the six special tests. He had quite a lead on the pack going into the last test when he hit a stump in the middle of the course and suffered a terrible high-speed crash. "I wrecked my bike pretty good in the crash and was lucky I finished the race," commented Bobbitt. "I thought for sure my crash would cause me to lose the lead, but luckily I had enough time on the other riders that I was able to secure my first win."Bobbitt's teammate, Mike Lafferty, had a bit of an off-day after struggling to find his rhythm in the first few tests. After the halfway point, Lafferty made a few changes that helped him increase his speed, however, it was too late in the race to finish on the podium and he had to settle for a fifth place finish.Factory KTM GNCC XC-2 rider, Cory Buttrick, decided to race the first National Enduro before his GNCC season started and it proved to be a worthwhile trip. Buttrick started out well and rode a consistent race, surprising everyone when he finished third overall for the day. His GNCC XC-2 Lites teammate, Kailub Russell, also had a solid race finishing sixth overall.Next Event: Greensboro, GA - February 22, 2009Overall Results:
1) Russell Bobbitt - 32:49 KTM

2) Charlie Mullins - 33:33
3) Cory Buttrick - 35:34 KTM
4) Shane Watts - 36:12 KTM
5) Mike Lafferty - 36:53 KTM
6) Kailub Russell - 37:48 KTM

7) Wally Palmer - 39:23
8) Brad Bakken - 39:36 KTM
9) Cole Kirkpatrick 40:47 KTM

10) Jason Greer - 41:22