Rockstar Makita Suzuki's Reed Takes SX Points Lead & Dungey Wins SX Lites At Anaheim II - Dirt Rider Magazine

Round 3 - AMA Supercross Series
Anaheim, CA
Angel Stadium
Jan. 17, 2009
Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing's Chad Reed captured the AMA Supercross Championship points lead after finishing second at Angel Stadium on Saturday night in the second of three Anaheim, California, rounds. The two-time and defending AMA Supercross Champion overcame a turn-one get-off, remounted his Rockstar Makita Suzuki RM-Z450 and charged hard from last place to take a podium spot. Rockstar Makita Suzuki teammate Mike Alessi got a great start on his Rockstar Makita Suzuki RM-Z450, running up front for several laps before finishing an impressive ninth place. Finally, Rockstar Makita Suzuki's Michael Byrne did not race, due to an injury sustained in the offseason. He hopes to be back racing as soon as possible.In the Supercross Lites class, Rockstar Makita Suzuki's Ryan Dungey picked up his second, consecutive win of the 2009 season. Dungey was fastest in practice, finished second in his heat race and won the main event. In the process, the young Minnesota rider also extended his points lead in the SX Lites title chase.Chad Reed:
"This was a good race weekend, we made some good changes to the Rockstar Makita Suzuki RMZ450 and kind of found out where we needed to be. The first and second practices went well, and in the heat race, I realized it would be important to get a good start. In the main event, I got down there in the top four but came together with another rider and went down. I thought it was going to be a real tough race, maybe I'd get a top five or something, so to get up on the podium - second especially - is awesome."Mike Alessi:
"Anaheim 2 was good, and we're making steady improvement. I did well in practice and was fifth in my heat race. The last two weeks, I've been sixth, so there was some improvement there. In the main event, I got a good holeshot and was running up front a couple of laps and battling with the top guys, like Reed. I was riding a good consistent pace and ended up ninth, which is better than the 11th that I've gotten the last couple of weeks. Like I said, it's just steady improvement, getting a little better every week. My Rockstar Makita Suzuki was running great and the guys did a great job like always."Ryan Dungey:
"Anaheim 2 went really well. It started with practice, when we made some minor changes to theRockstar Makita Suzuki RM-Z250. I felt good in practice and we were right there with bike set-up, and that was a good start of the day. The track was different, and the bike worked really awesome in every area. It was a fun night. Lining up for the main, I felt like the night was our night again, I had to take control and do what I knew how, but at the same time, I knew a holeshot was going to be key because it was tough to pass out there. But I was able to put myself in a good position, ride out my laps and be smart and be smooth."Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing will race next at Reliant Stadium in Houston, Texas, on Saturday, Jan. 24, 2009.Chad Reed, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing RM-Z450, #1
2nd Place - Anaheim 2 Supercross
1st Place - Overall Championship Points Standings****Mike Alessi, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing RM-Z450, #800
9th Place - Anaheim 2 Supercross
9th Place - Overall Championship Points Standings****Ryan Dungey, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing RM-Z250, #10
1st Place - Anaheim 2 Supercross Lites
1st Place -- Overall Championship Points Standings****AMA Supercross Top 10 Finishers:

1. James Stewart, Yamaha
2. Chad Reed, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing
3. Kevin Windham, Honda (Holeshot)
4. Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
5. Josh Grant, Yamaha
6. Andrew Short, Honda
7. Ivan Tedesco, Honda
8. Tim Ferry, Kawasaki
9. Mike Alessi, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing
10. Davi Millsaps, HondaAMA Supercross Lites Top 10 Finishers:
1. Ryan Dungey, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing

2. Ryan Morais, Kawasaki (Holeshot)
3. Jake Weimer, Kawasaki
4. Jason Lawrence, Yamaha
5. Chris Blose, Honda
6. Dan Reardon, Honda
7. Justin Brayton, KTM
8. Kyle Cunningham, Kawasaki
9. Michael Hall, Yamaha
10. PJ Larsen, Kawasaki