Rockstar Makita Suzuki's Dungey Wins Lites Race At Second Anaheim Supercross - Dirt Rider Magazine

Round 3 - AMA Supercross Series
Anaheim, CA
Angel Stadium
Jan. 19, 2008
Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing's Ryan Dungey picked up his second AMA Supercross Lites victory of the 2008 season at Angel Stadium in Anaheim, California, on Saturday night. In the second of three Anaheim rounds, Dungey had a picture-perfect evening. The 18-year-old rider won his six-lap qualifying race at the start of the evening and then finished the night with a victory in the 15-lap main. Dungey also won the season-opening round at the first Anaheim race two weeks ago. Three races into the season, Dungey continues to lead the championship points race.In the Supercross class, Rockstar Makita Suzuki's Mike Alessi captured his second consecutive holeshot of the season in the 20-lap main event. Alessi charged hard on his Rockstar Makita Suzuki RM-Z450 and brought home a fourth-place finish. This is Alessi's best result of the season so far. Teammate David Vuillemin won the Last Chance Qualifier and then had a bit of bad luck in the main when he stalled his bike. Even so, his 11th-place finish improved his overall standings in the championship points race.Ryan Dungey:
"The first couple of practices were decent today. The whole team and I were working on getting the bike better for the heat and we definitely got it set up the right way. We won the heat race, taking the lead on the last lap, and it was great to get that win but the main is what counts. In the main, I got a good start and was in second for about five laps. Then I got in first... It was tough, though, I was struggling a little but I dug deep and worked through it. The RM-Z250 worked great and the whole Rockstar Makita Suzuki team did a great job."Mike Alessi:
"It was a good race, partly because I've been trying to improve a little every weekend. Two sixths and now a fourth - I'm just gradually getting better every week. In the heat race, I got a good start and was riding well and had a good flow and came in second. In the main, I got a killer jump and a big holeshot. Then, I was in second for a few laps and then third, but I could tell the rider behind me was catching me. I tried to fight back but I couldn't get him. I started to push it a little toward the end and made a little mistake. So I thought, I'm riding good here in fourth, nobody's behind me so I put it on cruise control and kept being consistent. The RM-Z450 is running great, and my mechanic and everybody on the Rockstar Makita Suzuki team are doing a great job, as always."David Vuillemin:
"Practice was OK today, though I had a tough time getting used to the retro track. I was not happy with the heat race, I didn't ride very well. I was following other guys and had to go to the LCQ, where I got a good start and won the race. For the main, I was all the way on the outside of the gate, but I got a decent start. I got up into ninth and then stalled the bike - my mistake - and a few guys passed me and I ended up 11th. Actually, the bike started easily on the second kick. I have to say that we've made a lot of progress in our testing and the RM-Z450 was really good tonight." Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing will race next at AT&T; Park in San Francisco, California, on Saturday, Jan. 26, 2008.Mike Alessi, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing RM-Z450, #800
4th Place - Anaheim 2 Supercross
3rd Place - Overall Championship Points Standings
David Vuillemin, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing RM-Z450, #12
11th Place - Anaheim 2 Supercross
11th Place - Overall Championship Points Standings
Ryan Dungey, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing RM-Z250, #28
1st Place - Anaheim 2 Supercross Lites
1st Place -- Overall Championship Points Standings

AMA Supercross Top 10 Finishers:
1. Chad Reed, Yamaha
2. Josh Hill, Yamaha
3. Kevin Windham, Honda
4. Mike Alessi, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing (Holeshot)
5. Ivan Tedesco, Honda
6. Tim Ferry, Kawasaki
7. Nathan Ramsey, Yamaha
8. Josh Hansen, Yamaha
9. Andrew Short, Honda
10. Charles Summey, YamahaAMA Supercross Lites Top 10 Finishers:
1. Ryan Dungey, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing
2. Broc Hepler, Yamaha
3. Austin Stroupe, Kawasaki (Holeshot)
4. Dan Reardon, Honda
5. Brett Metcalfe, Kawasaki
6. Robert Kiniry, Honda
7. Billy Laninovich, KTM
8. Gavin Gracyk, Honda
9. Justin Brayton, KTM
10. Thomas Hahn, Kawasaki