Makita Suzuki's Tedesco Finishes Sixth At Steel City With Teammate Izzi Fifth In MX Lites - Dirt Rider Magazine

Team Makita Suzuki's Tedesco Finishes anImpressive Sixth Place at Steel CityMakita Suzuki's Izzi brings home fifth in second MX Lites raceRound 10 - AMA Toyota Motocross
Championship Series
Delmont, PA
Steel City Raceway
August 25 - 26, 2007Team Makita Suzuki Racing's Ivan Tedesco carded one of his best finishes of the 2007 AMA ToyotaMotocross Championship season on Sunday afternoon by picking up sixth-place overall atPennsylvania's Steel City Raceway. Tedesco rode his Makita Suzuki RM-Z450 to sixth place in the first30-minute moto and to fifth place in the second moto. Makita Suzuki teammate Ricky Carmichaeldid not race at Steel City because he is running an abbreviated race schedule for 2007.Ivan Tedesco:
"It was a little bit muddy this weekend, which isn't my favorite condition. In the first moto, I didn'tget the greatest start but I made some passes and got myself into sixth place. I pretty much rode bymyself in that moto, though at the end I was catching up to (Andrew) Short, but couldn't quite gethim. By the second moto, the track was pretty good and I got a little bit better start and made mypasses a little bit quicker. It was kind of the same as in the first moto - I rode by myself for a whileand started to catch Short but couldn't quite get him. But I rode a lot better in the second moto andI felt like my pace was right there with the leaders. I just need to get a little bit better start to get upthere and race with them. We made some tire changes before the second moto and I was waymore comfortable, I felt like I could charge a lot harder and the Makita Suzuki RM-Z450 was reallygood."In the Motocross Lites class, Team Makita Suzuki Racing's Nico Izzi followed up last week's 10thplacePro debut with an even more impressive performance. The 17-year-old rider raced his MakitaSuzuki RM-Z250 to two seventh-place moto finishes for a fifth-place overall result. Makita Suzukiteammate Ryan Dungey, unfortunately, broke his collarbone during Saturday practice and did notrace. More information on Dungey will be forthcoming as soon as it is available.Nico Izzi:
"Practice was all right, but it was a mud-fest so I just wanted to go out there and put in a pretty goodtime and make sure I was somewhere in the top 10. I was 15th and I would have liked to be a littlebit better but I knew the track would come around. My starts have been horrible and in the firstmoto, I came out around 20th and worked my way to fifth but got passed and finished seventh. So Iwas really happy with that. My goal was to come here and get top-eight and in the second moto, Igot a little bit better start and got seventh again for fifth overall. So I'm super-pumped. The MakitaSuzuki RM-Z250 is awesome and I can't say enough about the team. I'm looking forward to a lot ofyears with them."Team Makita Suzuki Racing will race next at Freestone County Raceway in Wortham, Texas, theweekend of Sept. 1 - 2, 2007.Ricky Carmichael, Team Makita Suzuki Racing RM-Z450, #4
DNR - Steel City Overall
6th Place -- Overall Championship Points StandingsIvan Tedesco, Team Makita Suzuki Racing RM-Z450, #9
6th Place - Moto 1, 5th - Moto 2
6th Place - Steel City Overall
12th Place - Overall Championship Points StandingsRyan Dungey, Team Makita Suzuki Racing RM-Z250, #62
DNR - Steel City Overall
5th Place - Overall Championship Points StandingsNico Izzi, Team Makita Suzuki Racing RM-Z250, #341
7th Place - Moto 1, 7th Place - Moto 2
5th Place - Steel City Overall
NA -- Overall Championship Points StandingsAMA Toyota Motocross Top 10 Finishers:
1. Grant Langtston, Yamaha
2. Mike Alessi, KTM
3. Kevin Windham, Honda
4. Andrew Short, Honda
5. Tim Ferry, Kawasaki
6. Ivan Tedesco, Team Makita Suzuki Racing
7. Gavin Gracyk, Honda
8. Michael Byrne, Rockstar Suzuki
9. Yoshitaka Atsuta, Honda
10. Josh Summey, HondaAMA Toyota Motocross Lites Top 10 Finishers:
1. Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
2. Ben Townley, Kawasaki
3. Brett Metcalfe, Kawasaki
4. Austin Stroupe, Kawasaki
5. Nico Izzi, Team Makita Suzuki Racing
6. Josh Grant, Honda
7. Martin Davalos, KTM
8. Broc Hepler, Yamaha
9. Jake Weimer, Honda
10. Trey Canard, Honda