Dirt Bike News - BooKoo Arenacross Heads to Southern California with the Closest Racing in History - Dirt Rider Magazine

Advanstar—a leading provider of print, event and online media for the powersports, off-road and automotive aftermarket industries—closes round four of its inaugural indoor motorcycle racing series with the closest championship points race in history.The K&N; presents BooKoo Arenacross Championship Series Brought to you by Toyota headed into West Valley City, Utah for round four of its 12-round racing series with the closest competition ever seen. Team Babbitt Enxus rider Josh Demuth looked to add to his four point lead over team Fun Center Suzuki rider Josh Woods.Friday night provided lots of excitement with team Fun Center Suzuki dominating the evening. Shane Bess captured his first BooKoo Arenacross series win in the 250cc main with teammate Josh Woods finishing a close second. "I think we're the best team out here and they've put in a lot of work to get us where we are. I had some troubles the last couple weeks and cracked a couple ribs, but I feel good and the bike is strong, it feels good to land the Suzuki on top tonight," said Bess after his victory Friday night.In Friday nights 450cc main Bess looked to repeat, but a huge pile up caused the red flag to come out and restart the race. On the restart it was Bess who charged out early but teammate Woods overtook him to capture the checkered flag with championship points leader Demuth, who made a hard charge from the middle of the pack, capturing second place. Sano Systems Shogun PPG Yamaha rider Tommy Hofmaster finished third.Saturday night provided fans with the most intense competition yet. The night started off with Utah Governor Jon Huntsman Jr. riding out on his Honda CRF 450 during opening ceremonies to welcome the crowd. With the fans already on their feet, Woods and Demuth put on a show to remember.The 250cc main showcased Woods and Demuth battling it out for the championship points lead once again. It was Woods taking the top podium spot with Demuth finishing in second place and Hofmaster finishing third. The 450cc main finished in almost the exact same order but team BooKoo Energy Al Lamb's Honda rider Tiger Lacey held off Hofmaster at the end for the final podium spot.Tiger Lacey also made some noise in the Dash For Cash. His two wins for the weekend give him five total for the series and an eight-point lead in the Dash For Cash over Demuth.Leaving Utah, Josh Woods's three victories for the weekend gives him the championship points lead by three points over the two-time national champion Demuth. This rivalry is sure to be even more intense as the BooKoo Arenacross Championship Series heads to Long Beach, CA.For the first time in history Arenacross will head into Southern California. The BooKoo Arenacross Championship Series, held in conjunction with the Cycle World International Motorcycle Show, takes over the Long Beach Convention Center and Arena for one big motorcycle event December 9-11, 2005. Doors open at 6:00 pm with the Rock `N Race Pit Party on the arena floor. Pro racing begins at 8:00 pm.Advance reserved discount tickets and Motorcycle Show and BooKoo Arenacross racing combo tickets are available through Ticketmaster, online at www.ticketmaster.com or by phone at 714-740-2000 or 213-467-3232, and participating Kawasaki Dealers. For more information about the BooKoo Arenacross Championship Series or the Cycle World International Motorcycle Show visit www.racearenacross.com or www.motorcycleshows.com.2006 Championship Points Standings
1. # 56 Josh Woods 242pts
2. #8 Josh Demuth 239pts
3. #221 Tiger Lacey 224pts
4. #110 Tommy Hofmaster 207pts
5. #102 Shane Bess 206pts
6. #99 Damien Plotts 178pts
7. #304 Brad Ripple 167pts
8. #13 Colt Humphrey 126pts
9. #94 Brad Modjewski 124pts
10. #64r Keith Johnson 101pts
11. #515 Riley Kurosky 97pts
12. #14 Jeff Willoh 83pts
13. #104 Casey Hinson 63pts
14. #136 Dennis Jonon 62pts
15. #62 Travis Bannister 47pts2006 Dash For Cash Championship Points Standings
1. #221 Tiger Lacey 30pts
2. #8 Josh Demuth 22pts
3. #56 Josh Woods 21pts
4. #110 Tommy Hofmaster 14pts
5. #99 Damien Plotts 11pts