Cyril Despres Wins UAE Desert Challenge Marc Coma Crowned World Champion - News - Dirt Rider Magazine

Securing his fourth Desert Challenge win in four years, Despres had a winning margin of 11mins 20 secs from a jubilant Coma who nursed his KTM through the event's final two stages today, knowing that a last-day disaster could have seen the world title slip away, another Frenchman, David Casteu, was a further 27 minutes behind in third place, claiming runner's up spot in the FIM Cross Country Rallies World Championship ahead of Despres.Victory in the bikes category had Despres feeling like a teenager, although he wasn't prepared to show it. "I'm really happy but since I'm not 18 years old I'm not jumping around," he said. "But I am very, very, happy."Tired but elated, new world champion Coma said: "I didn't push a lot today. I needed to make certain I finished. Wins are not easy but my strategy was to complete each stage."Castue, who had been accompanied throughout by a cuddly friend, said: "Today I played it safe and did not want to exert too much pressure. I'm very happy because it's been a good season. My teddy bear is happy and has been a good companion on the handlebars. It's especially for my children.Norway's Pal Anders Ullevalseter rounded off his reign as world champion with fourth place ahead of Spain's Jordi Duran Codina.Carlo de Gavardo wins the World Championship in the 450 class.Manufacturer World Championtitles for KTM in the Open and 450 class.Overall Final Standing UAE
1. Cyril Despres (F) / KTM (19:40:47)
2. Mark Coma (E) / KTM (19:52:07)
3. David Castue (F) / KTM (20:19:45)
4. Pal Anders Ullevalseter (N) / KTM (20:26:20)
5. Jordi Duran Codina (E) / KTM (20:38:21)
6. David McBride (GB) / Honda (20:55:26)
7. Jacek Czachor (PL) / KTM (21:12:53)
8. Lee Palmer (AUS) / KTM (21:38:48)
9. Miran Stanovnik (SLO) / KTM (21:44:37)
10. Oscar Polli (I) / KTM (21:49:33)