2005 Motocross of Nations Team - News - Dirt Rider Magazine

AMA Pro Racing announced yesterday that Mike Brown, Ricky Carmichael, and Kevin Windham will represent the United States at the 2005 Motocross of Nations (MXoN) on Sept., 25 in Ernee, France.AMA Pro Racing Motocross/Supercross Series Manager Steve Whitelock made the announcement at Thunder Valley Motocross Park, round seven of the 2005 AMA Motocross Championship presented by FMF. "Brown, Carmichael and Windham are three of the best motocross riders in the world and are the ideal team to represent the United States. We're thrilled that they have agreed to participate," said Whitelock. "We also appreciate that Honda and Suzuki have agreed to provide the equipment and support that will give these riders the best chance of winning."

Honda will provide support for Brown and Windham while Suzuki will support Carmichael.The MXoN is historically referred to as the "Olympics of Motorcycling" and features three-man teams from around the world. The United States last sent a team in 2003. That team, comprised of riders Ricky Carmichael, Tim Ferry and Ryan Hughes finished second to the Belgian team of Stefan Everts, Steve Ramon and Joel Smets The last American team to win the MXoN included Ricky Carmichael, Ryan Hughes and Travis Pastrana who captured the victory in 2000 at St. Jean d' Angely, France. From 1981 to 1993 the United States was undefeated winning the prestigious event a remarkable 13 straight times.Whitelock added that five-time world champion and current Team Makita Suzuki manager Roger De Coster would again manage the American effort. "Roger's background as both a rider and team manager is unparalleled," said Whitelock. "There's no one better suited to lead this team." Over a ten-year span from 1969 to 1979 riding for his native Belgium, De Coster helped his team win six times (1969, 1972, 1973, 1976, 1977 and 1979). De Coster began managing the American team in 1981.Whitelock observed that he was glad the American riders and teams saw the value of returning to the MXoN. "Last year we ultimately decided to not field an American team and the reasons and process were well documented," commented Whitelock. "Our plan now is to put all of that behind us and concentrate on the future. We have three, well supported riders all eager to go to the MXoN and do their best to win. Those are the necessary ingredients for success."About AMA Pro RacingAMA Pro Racing is the leading sanctioning body for motorcycle sport in the United States. Its properties include the THQ AMA Supercross Series, the AMA Motocross Championship Presented by FMF, the AMA Superbike Championship Presented by Parts Unlimited, the AMA Ford Quality Checked Flat Track Championship and the AMA Supermoto Championship. For more information about AMA Pro Racing, visit www.amaproracing.com. Accredited media outlets can also access AMA Pro Racing's online Press Room at www.amaproracing.com/pressroom.