Dirt Tracker John Lewis V Named AMA Sports Athlete of the Year - News - Dirt Rider Magazine

Dirt Tracker John Lewis V Named AMA Sports Athlete of the YearFifteen-year-old John Lewis V's consistently dominating performance over the year earned him Athlete of the Year honors at the second annual AMA Sports Awards Banquet presented by Naughton Insurance on November 12. Lewis had earlier secured an AMA Sports Horizon Award for his dirt track prowess, along with Mike Alessi for motocross and Logan Young for road racing. He joins a long list of Athletes of the Year, which the AMA began designating in 1976 with enduro great Dick Burleson as a way to recognize the achievements of the many competitors in the amateur, youth and Pro-Am (primarily non-professional) side of the sport. ATV athletes were also recognized.Other nominees this year included eight-time AMA/NATC National Observed Trials Champion Geoff Aaron (the 2000 AOTY winner), three-time AMA/FMF Racing National Hare & Hound Champion Destry Abbott, five-time AMA National Speedway Champion Greg Hancock and seven-time AMA/FMF Racing National Enduro Champion (and new father of twin girls) Randy Hawkins.Masters of ceremony Tim Cotter and Greg White kept the crowd in the Las Vegas Hilton banquet room entertained while introducing the various class and national champions throughout the evening. They ranged from Youth Rider of the Year Ashley Fiolek (the first hearing-impaired amateur MX champ) who swept all three motos of the Girls 65-105cc 9-13 class at the AMA Sports/Air Nautiques MX National Championships to Veteran/Senior Rider of the Year Jeff Fredette for his continued excellence in enduro/ISDE competition. Dennis Manning was named Sportsman of the Year for successfully establishing the inaugural motorcycle-exclusive speed trials at the Bonneville Salt Flats. All competitors who earned championships in their respective classes were invited to attend and receive awards and recognition on the stage, not just overall series winners. Additional awards recognized promoters and the enthusiast media.The 30th annual AMA Pro Racing Awards Banquet was scheduled for two nights later at the Paris Las Vegas Hotel/Casino.2004 AMA Sports Award Winners
Athlete of the Year: John Lewis V (Dirt Track)
Sportsman of the Year: Dennis Manning (Speed Trials)
Youth Rider of the Year: Ashley Fiolek (MX)
Female Rider of the Year: Heather Wilson (Hare Scrambles, GNCC)
Veteran/Senior Rider of the Year: Jeff Fredette (Enduro, ISDE)
Motocross Organizer of the Year: Lake Whitney MX Park, TX
Off-road Organizer of the Year: Ridge Runners M.C., NH (Hillclimb)
Track Racing Organizer of the Year: Fast Fridays, CA (Speedway)
Print Media Journalist of the Year: Doug Karcher (Cycle News)
Broadcast Journalist of the Year: DMXS Radio
Web Site of the Year: www.exriders.com
Photojournalist of the Year: Mark Kariya****2004 All-Terrain Vehicle Association Award Winners
Athlete of the Year: Doug Gust (Pro MX)
Amateur Rider of the Year: Mitch Reynolds (Dirt Track, MX)
Youth Rider of the Year: Ashton Laird (Dirt Track)
Female Rider of the Year: Stephanie Parton (GNCC)
Vet/Senior Rider of the Year: John Gallagher (GNCC)
Organizer of the Year: Victory Sports, TN (MX)