AMA ANNOUNCES 2003 ISDE TEAM USA - News - Dirt Rider

The American Motorcyclist Association (AMA) has announced the names of all 49 riders who will represent the United States in the 78th International Six Days Enduro (ISDE), scheduled for November 3 - 8, 2003, in Forteleza City, Brazil. Riders chosen as Team USA had to meet selection procedures previously announced by AMA. ISDE riders must complete difficult off-road routes on each day of the competition within a rigorous time schedule and are assessed penalty points for being late. Also pivotal to team and individual scores are daily "special tests" which are races against the clock in which each rider's performance is judged against the class leader. At the end of the competition, riders are awarded medals (gold, silver, bronze) for their performance.The top level of competition at the ISDE is among six-rider teams competing for the World Trophy. Racer Productions, producers of the AMA Grand National Cross Country Series, formed "GNCC ISDE 2003," a project that will provide full support for the U.S. Trophy Team, which has been dubbed "America's Team." The six riders that make up America's Team are Rodney Smith (team captain), Antioch, Calif., Fred Andrews, Salem, Ohio, Mike Lafferty, Millville, N.J., Mike Kiedrowski, Saugus, Calif., Jason Raines, Belfiar, Wash., and Ty Davis, Hesperia, Calif. The top four riders under the age of 24 to represent Team USA as the Junior Trophy Team are Kurt Caselli, Palmdale, Calif., Wally Palmer, Atco, N.J., David Pearson, Panaca, Nev., and Andrew Justin Shea, Oxford, Ohio.The remaining riders who qualified for this year's ISDE, have been placed on three-rider teams named for clubs contributing to the 2003 ISDE fund. They are: Boise Ridge Riders: Eric Bailey, Fort Collins, Colo., Luke McNeil, Bellingham, Mass., Jason Webb, West Hills, Calif.; ECEA Stars: Greg Gillian, South Riding, Va., Aaron Kopp, Pt. Pleasant, N.J., Richard Lafferty, Millville, N.J.; ECEA Stripes: John Burgard Jr., Bloomingdale, N.J.; Steven Kreis, Gillette, N.J., Ben Smith, Great Meadows, N.J.; GNCC: Barry Hawk, Smithfield, Pa., Randy Hawkins, Travelers Rest, S.C., Chuck Woodford, St. Clairsville, Ohio; JAFMAR Racing: Pat Flynn, Huntington, Ind., Jeff Fredette, Beecher, Ill., John Wells, Dublin, Calif.; Merced Dirt Riders: Brian Garrahan, Boulder Creek, Calif., Patrick Garrahan, Boulder Creek, Calif., Ron Schmelzie, Buffalocreek, Col.; Missouri Mudders: Russell Bobbitt, Fayetteville, Ga., Mike Monroe, Alabaster, Ala., Lars Valin, Eureka, Mo., Mt. Scott Motorcycle Club: Morgan Crawford, Sanger, Calif., Jonathan Seehorn, Rockford, Wash., Aaron Wilson, Enumclaw, Wash.; Northwest Motorcycle Club: Eric Bee, Bothell, Wash., Paul Neff, Puyallup, Wash., Bryan Penney, Littleton, Colo.; Oregon Motorcycle Riders Association: Alan Deyo, Orofino, Idaho, Jeremy Puma, Medford, Ore., Derek Steahly, Medford, Ore.; Ridge Riders Motorcycle Club: Dylan Debel, North Branch, Minn., Josh Lojak, Tarentum, Pa., Mark Thompson, Copper Canyon, Texas; Rod Kreiss, Fairfield, Calif., Bryce Olson, Rocklin, Calif., Rob Zimmerman, Colfax, Calif.; Women's Club: Lissa Arsenault, Medford, N.J.; Heidi Landon, Palmetto, Ga., Amanda Mastin, Whitehouse, Ohio.The ISDE is one of the world's oldest and most historic motorcycle events. The U.S. won The Vase Trophy in 1973, while The Junior Team from 1991, brought home the Junior Trophy. In 2001, Team USA was presented the Watling Trophy, awarded to the country that puts forth the best effort under adverse conditions.Two corporate sponsors also support Team USA: PJ1 Lubricants and Arai Helmets.The public can help support Team USA by purchasing the 2003 ISDE t-shirt, available online in the AMA Gift Shop -- log on to and click on "Gift Shop."For complete package details about the AMA Travel excursion to the 2003 ISDE, call AMA Travel & Tours at 614-856-1900 extension 1196. The American Motorcyclist Association, founded in 1924, is a non-profit organization with more than 260,000 members. The Association's purpose is to pursue, protect and promote the interests of motorcyclists, while serving the needs of its members. For more information, visit the AMA website at, or call 1-800-AMA-JOIN.