Daytona Supercross Race Results 2016

Eli Tomac takes first 450 win, Jeremy Martin tops the 250SX podium at Daytona Supercross.

Monster Energy Kawasaki's Eli Tomac dominated Round 9 of the Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, on Saturday night at Daytona International Speedway, leading every lap of the 20-lap 450SX Main Event to secure his first win of 2016.

Eli Tomac, Daytona Supercross 2016
Eli Tomac wins 450SX class and holds Dungey off at Daytona.Photo by Shan Moore

Tomac nailed the start and jumped out to an early lead while KTM Ryan Dungey slotted into second. The two immediately gapped the field to set up a head-to-head battle, but the defending champion was unable to get the better of Tomac.

“This is a place where I’ve always wanted to win,” Tomac said. “Daytona is a different race. I just had fun on my dirt bike tonight.”

Despite failing to record the victory, it was a night to celebrate for Dungey as he posted his 25th consecutive podium finish – tying Chad Reed’s series record. Joining Tomac and Dungey on the podium was Marvin Musquin, who continues to impress in his debut 450SX season.

“It was good racing," said Dungey. "I tried to pressure him (Tomac) into a mistake but he was solid and consistent.”

Dungey extended his championship lead to 39 points over former teammate Ken Roczen, who finished fifth. Jason Anderson, who sits third in the title fight, finished the race one spot better than Roczen in fourth.

Jeremy Martin wins 250SX Daytona Supercross 2016
Jeremy Martin tops the 250SX podium at Daytona Supercross.Photo by Shan Moore

In the Eastern Regional 250SX Class, Yamaha rider Jeremy Martin captured a thrilling victory which had fans on the edge of their seat from start to finish.

Malcolm Stewart led the opening 12 laps with Martin in tow - the two never being separated by more than one second - but he was unable to maintain the lead in the closing stages. Martin powered past the younger Stewart brother on Lap 13 and quickly pulled away to secure his first win of 2016. Justin Hill also got the better of Stewart, taking second in Daytona.

The final spot on the podium looked to be going to the GEICO Honda rider, but he stalled his bike in the final turn which allowed championship leader Martin Davalos to sneak by.

Davalos will carry a two-point lead over Martin into the next round in Toronto, Canada.

450SX Results

  1. Eli Tomac
  2. Ryan Dungey
  3. Marvin Musquin
  4. Jason Anderson
  5. Ken Roczen
  6. Trey Canard
  7. Josh Grant
  8. Christophe Pourcel
  9. Justin Brayton
  10. Cole Seely
450 Supercross Daytona Race Results
450 Supercross Daytona Race ResultsCourtesy of AMA Supercross

250SX Results

  1. Jeremy Martin
  2. Justin Hill
  3. Martin Davalos
  4. Malcolm Stewart
  5. Aaron Plessinger
  6. Arnaud Tonus
  7. Rj Hampshire
  8. Jesse Wentland
  9. Tyler Bowers
  10. Shane Mcelrath
250 Supercross Daytona Race Results
250 Supercross Daytona Race ResultsCourtesy of AMA Supercross