Utah Governor Huntsman Welcomes Back Monster Energy® Supercross

Utah Governor Huntsman Welcomes Back Monster Energy® Supercross To Rice-Eccles Stadium****AURORA, Ill. (April 23, 2009) - Utah Governor Jon Huntsman Jr. welcomed back Monster Energy® AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, to Salt Lake City's Rice-Eccles Stadium today at a press conference with Honda Red Bull Racing's Andrew Short, Davi Millsaps and Ivan Tedesco and Muscle Milk/MDK/KTM's Justin Brayton and Michael Sleeter. Utah Sports Commission President Jeff Robbins, who was instrumental in bringing the race back to Salt Lake City joined Governor Huntsman and the riders at the press conference.****

**Governor Huntsman said he wanted to bring Monster Energy® Supercross back to Salt Lake City's Rice-Eccles Stadium. Photo Credit: Kent Diamond


"This is the greatest sport in the world, and we have brought it to an Olympic Stadium for Saturday night's race," said Governor Huntsman. "I am so proud to have Monster Energy® Supercross back in Salt Lake City and look forward to seeing the huge crowd on hand. Tickets are still available, and I encourage everyone to take part of this special race."

Andrew Short, Governor Huntsman, Todd Jendro, and Jeff Robbins (from left to right). Photo Credit: Kent Diamond

The first supercross race held at Rice-Eccles Stadium took place in 2001 where 42,135 packed the home of the 2002 Olympic Opening and Closing Ceremonies to watch Ricky Carmichael race to victory. Carmichael holds the all-time AMA Supercross win record in Salt Lake City with two. Stewart holds the all-time AMA Supercross Lites class win record at Salt Lake City with two.

**Andrew Short presents Governor a jersey on behalf of the Honda Red Bull Racing team. **Photo Credit: Kent Diamond

Tickets are available at www.SupercrossOnline.com, www.utahtickets.com, by phone at 801-581-UTIX and the Rice-Eccles Box Office. Goldcircle seats are $40; Mid-Level seats are $20 for adults and $10 for kids; Treadhead seats are $10. All seats are $2 extra on the day of the event. Practice and qualifying times begin at 12:30 PM with the main event beginning at 7:00 PM.

****Governor Huntsman gives Salt Lake City local racer Landen Powell some advice on this weekend's race.** ****Photo Credit: Kent Diamond******

Past Winners in Salt Lake City
AMA Supercross Class
April 24, 2004: Kevin Windham
April 26, 2003: Chad Reed
April 27, 2002: Ricky Carmichael
April 28, 2001: Ricky Carmichael

AMA Supercross Lites Class
April 24, 2004: Ivan Tedesco
April 26, 2003: James Stewart
April 27, 2002: James Stewart
April 28, 2001: Ernesto Fonseca

For more information on the Monster Energy® AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, please log on to www.SupercrossOnline.com. For all media requests, please contact Denny Hartwig dhartwig@feldinc.com or 630-566-6305.

About Feld Motor Sports
Feld Motor Sports, Inc. is the world leader in specialized arena and stadium-based motor sports entertainment. Feld Motor Sports, Inc. productions include Monster Jam®, Monster Energy® Supercross, AMA Arenacross Series, Freestyle Motocross, and IHRA® Nitro Jam®. Feld Motor Sports, Inc. is a division of Feld Entertainment, the world's largest producer of live family entertainment. For more information on Feld Entertainment, visit www.feldentertainment.com.

About The Utah Sports Commission
The Utah Sports Commission is a not-for-profit, 501c3 charitable organization consisting of a statewide coalition of leaders from both public and private spheres throughout Utah. The Commission was created to foster national and international amateur sports competitions held in the state of Utah acting as a catalyst in unifying Utah's sports community and strengthening Utah's presence in the global sports marketplace. The Utah Sports Commission partners with Utah Sports Commission members and sports entities to target and develop bids, coordinate volunteer efforts, and develop sponsorship and promotional opportunities for new sporting events. For further information, visit www.utahsportscommission.com.

governor huntsman, jon huntsman
Andrew Short, Governor Huntsman, Todd Jendro, Jeff Robbins
andrew short, governor huntsman
landen powell, governor huntsman