Monster Energy Supercross Notes Package: Anaheim 2

Monster Energy Supercross News Release

Supercross Class Stats: Anaheim 2
The first race in Anaheim was held on December 4, 1976, and Marty Smith won a Honda
This race marks the 55th time the gate will drop for a Supercross class race in Anaheim

Anaheim holds the record for hosting the most Supercross class races

Supercross Class Wins by Brand in Anaheim
Three different brands won Supercross class races in Anaheim last year, Kawasaki, Suzuki and Yamaha

Since 2001 Anaheim has hosted three Supercross class races. Only twice have three different riders won main events. In 2002, David Vuillemin, Mike LaRocco, and Ricky Carmichael each won a race in Anaheim, and in 2010, James Stewart, Ryan Dungey, and Ryan Villopoto.
First Time Supercross Class Winners in Anaheim**
1979: Kent Howerton
1982: Donnie Hansen
1983: David Bailey
1984: Johnny O'Mara
1990: Damon Bradshaw
1993: Jeremy Mcgrath
2003: Chad Reed
2009: Josh Grant
Chad Reed will be racing for his seventh Supercross class win in Anaheim
James Stewart will racing for his eighth Supercross class win in Anaheim

Supercross Class Recap from Oakland
James Stewart earned his 39th Supercross class win and is now tied for third on the all-time win list

Stewart is the only ride to earn podium finishes at the first four races this season

James Stewart has now won a Supercross class race in seven consecutive seasons and is tied with Chad Reed

Stewart has 64 career starts, 55 career podiums.
Reed earned his 104th career Supercross class podium finish
Reed now has at least one podium finish in none consecutive seasons

Dungey earned his 15th career podium and the third of the season

Villopoto earned his 24th career top-five finish in 35 Supercross class starts
Brett Metcalfe earned his first top-five finish in the supercross class

Davi Millsaps earned his first top-10 finish of the year, finishing eighth

Reed has now finished on the podium on four different brands in four years: 2008, Yamaha, 2009, Suzuki, 2010, Kawasaki, 2011 11, Honda.
Mike LaRocco and Ezra Lusk also finished on the podium with four different brands in as many years

Supercross Lites Stats: Anaheim
First race was held on February 2, 1985, and Mike Healy won on a Suzuki
This will be the 47th time the gate will drop for a Supercross Lites race in Anaheim.

Supercross Lites Class Wins by Brand in Anaheim

Supercross Lites Recap from Oakland
Broc Tickle earned his second career win, his first on a Kawasaki.
Tickle and Josh Hansen have both finished on the podium at three of four races

Jimmy Decotis has finished within the top eighth since Phoenix when he was brought on to the Geico Honda team, replacing injured rider Wil Hahn

Tickle became the first ride to win in Oakland aboard a Lites class bike

Supercross Laps Led
James Stewart 46
Ryan Villopoto 29
Ivan Tedesco 3
Ryan Dungey 1
Brett Metcalfe 1

Supercross Lites Class Laps Led
Broc Tickle 22
Joshua Hansen 19
Cole Seely 15
Eli Tomac 3
Ken Roczen 1
Holeshot Award (Supercross Class)_
Ivan Tedesco (Anaheim 1)
James Stewart (Phoenix)
Brett Metcalfe (Los Angeles)
Ryan Villopoto (Oakland)

Holeshot Award (Supercross Lites Class)
Broc Tickle (Anaheim 1)
Broc Tickle (Phoenix)
Cole Seely (Los Angeles)
Eli Tomac (Oakland)

MMI Top Tech Award
Pro Circuit Kawasaki (Anaheim 1)
Rene Zapapa (Phoenix)
Brent Presnell (Los Angeles)
Brian Kranz (Oakland)

Asterick Medic Card
Parker Eckman (Anaheim 1)
Gared Steinke (Phoenix)
Bruce Rutherford (Los Angeles)
Ivo Monticelli (Oakland)

Supercross Class Results: Oakland
1. James Stewart, Haines City, Florida, Yamaha
2. Chad Reed, Dade City, Florida, Honda
3. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki
4. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki
5. Brett Metcalfe, Lake Elsinore, Cali., Suzuki
6. Trey Canard, Shawnee, Oak., Honda
7. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda
8. David Millsaps, Carlsbad, Cali., Yamaha
9. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM
10. Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta, Cali., Kawasaki

Supercross Class Season Standings
1. James Stewart, Haines City, Florida, Yamaha, 92
2. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 90
3. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 78
4. Trey Canard, Shawnee, Oak., Honda, 71
5. Chad Reed, Dade City, Florida, Honda, 70
6. Brett Metcalfe, Lake Elsinore, Cali., Suzuki, 55
7. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM, 49
8. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda, 46
9. Justin Brayton, Cornelius, NC., Yamaha, 39
10. Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Florida, Yamaha, 39

Western Regional Supercross Lites Class Results: Oakland
1. Broc Tickle, Holly, Miss., Kawasaki
2. Joshua Hansen, Elbert, Col., Kawasaki
3. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Col., Honda
4. Ken Roczen, Mattstedt, Germany, KTM
5. Tyla Rattray, Wildomar, Cali., Kawasaki
6. Ryan Morais, Murrieta, Cali., Suzuki
7. Kyle Cunningham, Aledo, Texas, Yamaha
8. James Decotis, Peabody, Mass., Honda
9. Bruce Rutherford, Murrieta, Cali., Kawasaki
10. Ryan Marmont, Woonona, Australia, KTM

Western Regional Supercross Lites Season Standings
1. Joshua Hansen, Elbert, Col., Kawasaki, 88
2. Broc Tickle, Holly, Miss., Kawasaki, 87
3. Ryan Morais, Murrieta, Cali., Suzuki, 70
4. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Col., Honda, 69
5. Cole Seely, Corona, Cali., Honda, 60
6. Tyla Rattray, Wildomar, Cali., Kawasaki, 58
7. Ken Roczen, Mattstedt, Germany, KTM, 49
8. Martin Davalos, Cario, Georgia, Suzuki, 45
9. Kyle Cunningham, Aledo, Texas, Yamaha, 44
10. James Decotis, Peabody, Mass., Honda, 40

For more, check out