Mike Alessi Earns 4th Overall at High Point Motocross

_ ____KTM News Release


Red Bull/KTM Factory rider Mike Alessi earned 4th overall in his first race this season at the third round of the AMA Pro Motocross Championship Series held at High Point Raceway in Mt. Morris, PA.

Alessi got off to too good of a start in the first moto when his bike jumped over the gate at the start of the moto. He was able to round the first corner in 3rd place and finished the race in the same position in a notable return to the series after sitting out the past three weeks from an injury suffered in practice at round one.

Although Alessi crossed the line in 3rd place he was docked one position for jumping the gate. That put him in 4th place for the first moto. His teammate, Andrew Short, started inside the top ten in moto one and crossed the checkered flag in 11th place.

In typical fashion, Alessi earned another great start in the second moto this time taking the holeshot and the early lead. The second moto was remarkably different from the first moto as heavy rain fall during the intermission had made the course very sloppy and slick. Alessi pulled away from the pack early in the moto to pull a 15 second lead by the fifth lap. Unfortunately, late on lap five, Alessi suffered a crash. He lost over 20 seconds while recovering from the mistake and lost the lead to Chad Reed.

Alessi struggled with arm pump after his crash and managed to cross the finish in 4th at the end of the moto. His 4-4 results earned him 4th overall for the day. Short came from a poor second moto start to finish 13th. His 11-13 scores put him in 12th overall for the day.

"I am happy with my results today. Of course, I would have liked to finish in the top three but I am just glad to be back to racing and doing what I love. I want to thank all the doctors that have helped get me back in racing shape over the past few weeks. I hope to be on the podium at the next round," remarked Alessi.

Next Event: Budds Creek - June 18, 2011

Overall Results 450 Class -
1) Ryan Villopoto
2) Ryan Dungey
3) Chad Reed
4) Mike Alessi - KTM
5) Davi Millsaps
6) Kevin Windham
7) Tommy Hahn
8) Brett Metcalfe
9) Jake Weimer
10) Nick Wey
11) Ricky Dietrich
12) Andrew Short - KTM
13) Weston Peick
14) Michael Byrne
15) Christian Craig
16) Les Smith
17) Fredrik Noren
18) Tyler Bright
19) Tye Simmonds - KTM
20) Travis Sewell

andrew short, ktm 350, ktm, short, supercross, riders, monster energy, monster energy supercross, 2011, moto, mx, motocross
mike alessi, ktm, alessi, supercross, riders, monster energy, monster energy supercross, 2011, mx, moto, motocross