JDR/J-Star/KTM Race Report - High Point Motocross

_ KTM News Release


JDR/J-Star/KTM rider Tye Simmonds finished 19th overall for the day at the third round of the AMA Pro Motocross Championship Series held at High Point Raceway in Mt. Morris, PA.

Simmonds qualified 26th into the main event and as a result did not get a great gate pick. He got pushed wide off the start and rounded the first corner of moto one in 30th position. He rode a steady pace and was able to pass into the top twenty by the moto end to finish 19th.

In the second moto he had a better start and came around the first lap mid-pack. Within the first few laps he had passed into 16th and was riding well before he crashed in the slick mud coming down the roller section.

"The course was so muddy from the rain in the second moto that when I tried to double some of the rollers my front end just stuck on the landing and pitched me over the bike," remarked Simmonds. He recovered around 30th position, and once again, found himself fighting through the pack. At the moto end he was able to climb up to 18th. His 19-18 moto scores earned him 19th overall for the day.

Simmonds Lites teammate, PJ Larsen, was set to make High Point his first return to racing since a wrist injury suffered during the Supercross season. He got a great start in the first moto rounding the first turn in 5th place. He remained inside the top ten for the first few laps before he began to fade as his wrist began to give him pain. Around the halfway mark he had to pull off as his wrist proved too weak to hold on for the moto.

"At this time we think it is best if PJ takes a few more weeks off and makes sure he is 100% ready before making a return," commented JDR/J-Star/KTM Team Manager Nathan Ramsey. "This race was too soon from his injury and it showed. We will continue to work on healing his wrist and getting his endurance back over the next few weeks."

Next Event: Budds Creek - June 18, 2011

Overall Results 450 Class -
1) Ryan Villopoto
2) Ryan Dungey
3) Chad Reed
4) Mike Alessi - KTM
5) Davi Millsaps
6) Kevin Windham
7) Tommy Hahn
8) Brett Metcalfe
9) Jake Weimer
10) Nick Wey
11) Ricky Dietrich
12) Andrew Short - KTM
13) Weston Peick
14) Michael Byrne
15) Christian Craig
16) Les Smith
17) Fredrik Noren
18) Tyler Bright
19) Tye Simmonds - KTM
20) Travis Sewell