Everett Washington Endurocross To Taddy Blazusiak

Geoff Aaron and Cody Webb Round out the Podium!

Everett, WA (August 15, 2011) - The 2011 GEICO AMA EnduroCross series, presented by Lucas Oil made a huge impact as part of the X Games less than two weeks ago then the riders made the trip up to the Pacific Northwest to race in the Comcast Arena in Everett Washington. And just like at the X Games, Taddy Blazusiak rode his Factory KTM 350 to the win. Geoff Aaron finished second on his GEICO Honda while Cody Webb rounded out the podium on his factory Beta.

Cody Webb and Everett Washington
Photo: Drew Ruiz

The afternoon got started with the timed qualifying laps to determine the gate picks for the heat races. Blazusiak set the fastest time followed by Aaron, Graham Jarvis, Mike Brown and Colton Haaker. The "Hot Laps" determine the gate picks for the heat races.

Blazusiak, Webb and Jarvis each won their heat races to get direct transfers to the main event. Webb has really stepped up his game for EnduroCross and looks like he will be a regular podium contender. Jarvis made the trip from England to compete in a few North American off road events and showed that he is a contender. The biggest surprise non-qualifier for the main event was Monster Kawasaki's Taylor Robert who could not re-fire his bike after stalling in his semi.

When the gate dropped for the main event, Blazusiak immediately took the lead but could not shake the field for the first three laps. Brown, Webb and Aaron all stayed very close and began a fierce battle that slowed each of them and allowed Blazusiak to pull away. Aaron eventually took control of second and Webb fought back to third after a few mistakes. Brown took fourth just ahead of Graham Jarvis. Jarvis rode a very steady race but seemed uncomfortable with the high intensity of the first few laps. Lucas Oil backed Haaker finished sixth ahead of Oregon's Kevin Rookstool. Justin Soule finished eighth on the Monster Energy Kawasaki ahead of Gary Sutherlin, Wally Palmer and an unlucky Bobby Prochnau. The top Canadian off road motorcycle racer had worked his way to fourth but a derailed chain ended his race.

In the end, Blazusiak lapped all the way up to third place, which is an amazing display of skill with such a strong field of riders that included Aaron, a 10 time AMA Trials Champion, Cody Webb, the 2010 Trials Champion and Jarvis, who just this year has won the Romaniacs, Tough One and Hells Gate Extreme Enduro events.

In addition to the Expert class, EnduroCross events include Amateur, Vet 35+ and TrialsCross classes. The top two finishers in each class also earn a spot in the Vegas Grand Championship Finals for each respective class. The Vet class was won by Shane Culberson over Joe Kopp and Billy Baldwin. The Amateur class was won by Ben Rego over Matt Crouch and Keith Curtis. The TrialsCross class was won by Max Nelson ahead of Paul Neff and Teddy Hahn.

Due to the X Games buzz for the Women's class and a large number of female riders interested in competing, the Everett round also included a Women's class. Seattle native and X Games gold medal winner Maria Forsberg took the win after literally dragging her bike across the finish line just ahead of Canada's Victory Hett. Chantelle Bykerk finished third ahead of Christy Williams and Kendall Reed.

The GEICO AMA EnduroCross series will now head east to Indianapolis, Indiana for a Friday night event that kicks off the MotoGP weekend on August 26th. The event will take place inside the Pepsi Coliseum at the Indiana State Fairgrounds.

Tickets for the Indy event are available at Bloomington Powersports www.BloomingtonPowersports.com and IndyMoto www.IndyMoto.com, as well as directly from Ticketmaster. Information for all of the GEICO EnduroCross events can be found at www.EnduroCross.com.

2011 GEICO AMA EnduroCross Schedule**

EnduroCross tracks incorporate various elements of extreme off road racing into a supercross-style setting, including rocks, boulders, logs, sand, mud, a water-hole...and even a few special obstacles like giant tires thrown in! Known as the "toughest racing on two wheels," this indoor off road racing will certainly keep you on your feet. Don't miss your chance to see GEICO AMA EnduroCross "Live". ESPN, ESPN2 and ABC will combine to telecast 25 hours of live X Games 17 competition, which will include Enduro X. For the six remaining EnduroCross events, be sure to log-on to www.motorsportshour.com for local air dates/times for the Lucas Motorsports Hour on the Versus network.

EnduroCross is a registered trademark of Source Interlink Magazines, LLC.
For rules and race information visit www.endurocross.com or email endurocross@sorc.com.

About EnduroCross
EnduroCross has quickly become recognized as the most exciting and entertaining form of motorcycle racing in America. Introduced to the states in 2004 as a single, stand alone event, the Maxxis National EnduroCross grew to a three-round series in 2007. To celebrate its success in 2008, GEICO EnduroCross expanded to a six-round series playing to key markets across the United States. www.EnduroCross.com

About GrindMedia
Media giant Source Interlink Media's GrindMedia is home to renowned action and adventure sports magazine brands and the leading provider of online action sports and entertainment content. With flagship action sports brands including Surfer, Surfing, Snowboarder, Skateboarder, Powder, Bike, Canoe & Kayak, SUP-Standup Paddler and Paved, as well as their standalone websites, GrindMedia is the leading action and adventure sports magazine publisher in the United States. Delivering significant reach across both action sports enthusiast and various in-market consumer audiences, GrindMedia also produces more than 20 leading events and webcasts such as Surfer Poll Awards, Powder Video Awards, Nike 6.0 Lowers Pro, EnduroCross and International Surfing Day. GrindMedia is also the action and adventure sports content provider for Yahoo! Sports. To learn more, visit www.grindmedia.com.

About Source Interlink Media Motorsports
Encompassing the highly successful GEICO AMA MiniMotoSX presented by Monster Energy and Braaap USA, the GEICO AMA EnduroCross Championship Series, presented by Lucas Oil and the AMA EnduroCross Grand Championships, the Source Interlink Media Motorsports brands reach millions of motorcycle enthusiasts with live events, DVD packages, web sites, television and magazine coverage. Visit www.minimotosx.com or www.EnduroCross.com

About Source Interlink Media
Source Interlink Media is the premier source of special interest media in the United States. With more than 70 publications, 90 websites, 400 branded products, 65+ events, and TV and radio programs, SIM is the largest provider of content to enthusiast communities interested in automotive, action sports, marine and other niche activities. The organization's strategy is to wholly focus on targeted audiences by leveraging and expanding upon its core market-leading brands through a multiplatform media approach.

2011 endurocross, 2011 endurox left view, dirt rider magazine,
ama logo, ama, dirt rider magazine,
2011 geico ama endurocross schedule, 2011 geico endurocross schedule, dirt rider magazine,