Bobbitt Wins Upton, WY National Enduro

Upton, WY - Shock Doctor/KTM rider Russell Bobbitt won the sixth round of the AMA National Enduro Series and increased his points lead over teammate Mike Lafferty with his fourth win of the season.

Bobbitt had a great race from start to finish winning 4 of 6 special tests. "I felt good all day and my bike was jetted great for the conditions," commented Bobbitt. "I only had one problem where I crashed on the last test of the day. I came over a blind rock and hit another rider who had already crashed there. I was ejected from my bike and had to drag it down the hill to continue the section. Despite my crash, this was a fun race and I really enjoyed the course."

Parts of the course became quite dusty throughout the day and the variety of terrain and trails provided quite a challenge for the riders. "We had tight single track sections, open pastures, rocks and water sections - it was a fun day to race," commented Lafferty who finished 2nd overall.

"We are excited for Russell and Mike - they both rode great this weekend," commented Shock Doctor/KTM Team Manager Antti Kallonen. "It was also nice to see how well the other KTM riders performed - 6 of the top 10 riders were on KTM motorcycles."

KTM also had its Ride Orange hospitality rig headed by Mark Hyde at this event serving spaghetti dinner to over 400 people on Saturday night at the local high school. Over $2,000 was raised for the Upton High School FCCLA Program. In addition to the spaghetti dinner, KTM will help run the Montana Trail Vehicle Riders Association (MTVRA) trail ride on Thursday, June 25, 2009. The trial ride will be led by off-road pros Russell Bobbitt, Mike Lafferty, Jason Raines, Nick Fahringer, Cole Kirkpatrick and Brad Bakken. All proceeds from this event will help fight land closure battles in the state of Montana.

Next Event: Round 7 - June 28, 2009 - Cascade, MT

Overall Results:
1) Russell Bobbitt - KTM
2) Mike Lafferty - KTM
3) Ian Blythe - KTM
4) Cole Kirkpatrick - KTM

5) Nick Fahringer - Husaberg
6) Bernie Fredrick - Yamaha
7) Brad Bakken - KTM
8) Carsten Cagle - KTM

9) Fred Hoess - Kawasaki
10) Rory Sullivan - Husaberg
Overall Points Standings:
1) Russell Bobbitt - 166
2) Mike Lafferty - 151
3) Brad Bakken - 104**
4) Nick Fahringer - 88
5) Cole Kirkpatrick - 84