2019 Alligator National Enduro Race Report

Steward Baylor gets first win of the season

Steward Baylor
Steward Baylor was smart and fast in the Florida sand. “We made some changes there going into the last few tests,” Baylor said. “I knew the last section would have a lot of palmettos, so I softened everything up. The first time through the palmettos I felt like I was struggling. The second time, I never made a mistake. It was really good. It was just one of those perfect days.”Shan Moore

Steward Baylor won round 2 of the Kenda AMA National Enduro Series in Ormond Beach, Florida—the Alligator Enduro—by one minute and 23 seconds ahead of round 1 winner Russell Bobbitt to claim his first win of the season. Baylor dominated the race, winning all six tests on his Tely Energy Racing KTM, while navigating the tight and sandy Florida trails.

“I only made a couple mistakes all day,” Baylor said. “I felt like I got better as the day went on.”

Although not as consistent as Baylor, Bobbitt was the best of the rest and claimed second place by a narrow 10-second margin over Max Motorsports/FXR/Husqvarna’s Evan Smith.

“I always seem to struggle at this race,” Bobbitt said. “I’ve never won it, so that was one of the reasons I wanted to come down here. I didn’t crash all day [and] didn’t stall it. I just kind of rode real smooth and was able to read the trail.”

Smith showed good speed, but suffered from a couple of encounters with the many mud bogs on the Alligator course.

Russell Bobbitt
After winning the opening round of the Kenda AMA National Enduro Series in South Carolina, Russell Bobbitt came into Florida with a lot of momentum. The Gnarly Routes KTM rider rode a solid race and finished second overall behind Steward Baylor.Shan Moore

“I was five or six seconds down on Russ going into the last test, but I ended up burying my bike in a mud hole,” Smith said. “There’s no telling how long it took, but it took me a while to get it out. Then I still only lost to him by 10 seconds for the day.”

Evan Smith
Evan Smith is having a breakout season in 2019, and now has two podium finishes in two rounds.Shan Moore

The surprise of the day was JDP Suspension/RideOnMoto/KTM’s Tegan Temple, who beat a lot of pro riders to claim fourth overall en route to first place in the NE Pro2 class. Two more Pro2 riders followed Temple in the fifth and six spots. Fifth overall and second in NE Pro2 went to Tely Energy KTM’s Liam Draper. Meanwhile, Beta USA’s Cody Barnes was sixth overall and third in the NE Pro2 division.

Tegan Temple
NE Pro2 class winner Tegan Temple was excited and surprised to get fourth overall in the Pro class. “I thought I could win the class, but I didn’t expect to get fourth overall,” Temple said. “It’s pretty exciting.”Shan Moore
Grant Baylor
Grant Baylor, who was making his return to racing after suffering a shoulder injury, finished an uneventful seventh overall. “I just didn’t have the upper body strength to hold on in that tight stuff,” Baylor said. “The Alligator is a pretty physical race.”Shan Moore

Grant Baylor made his return to racing after several weeks off the bike due to a shoulder injury. The Tely Energy Racing KTM rider had just got back on the bike two days before heading into the race. Grant admitted afterward that he was lacking upper body strength to finish well and settled for seventh overall. Beta USA’s Mike Witkowski was eight overall, while the Hayes brothers, Chase and Zack, rounded out the top 10 on a pair of KTMs.

Mackenzie Tricker
Mackenzie Tricker took a solid win over Tayla Jones to win the Women’s Elite class. “It was a pretty good day,” Tricker said. “I started slow in test one, then I kind of started chipping off a little bit of time. I lost 19 seconds in that first test, so I had to just kind of make up some time. Tayla and I went into the last test with two seconds separating us, so it was just like I knew it was going to be the both of us just either sending it or crashing and I was able to get the win.”Shan Moore

Mackenzie Tricker showed her sand-riding prowess with a big win in the Women’s Elite division, putting her Mepmx/Fly/Grizzly Peak/Traveler’s Rest Speedway KTM on top of the box ahead of Moose Racing/Husqvarna’s Tayla Jones by 19 seconds. Brooke Cosner was third on a KTM.

2019 Alligator National Enduro Overall Results

Position Rider Brand
1 Steward Baylor KTM
2 Russell Bobbitt KTM
3 Evan Smith Husqvarna
4 Tegan Temple KTM
5 Liam Draper Husqvarna
6 Cody Barnes Beta
7 Grant Baylor KTM
8 Mike Witkowski Beta
9 Chase Hayes KTM
10 Zach Hayes KTM

2019 Kenda AMA National Enduro Point Standings

Position Rider Brand Points
1 Steward Baylor KTM 55
2 Russell Bobbitt KTM 55
3 Evan Smith Husqvarna 42
4 Mike Witkowski Beta 31
5 Tegan Temple KTM 29
6 Liam Draper Husqvarna 28
7 Zack Hayes KTM 25
8 Cody Barnes Beta 24
9 Chase Hayes KTM 22
10 Jake Froman Husqvarna 22