Taddy Blazusiak Back on Top at Sacramento EnduroCross

Irvine, CA (June 9, 2012) – Round two of the 2012 GEICO AMA EnduroCross Championship, presented by Lucas Oil made a first ever stop to Northern California with KTM's Taddy Blazusiak finding his way back to the top of the podium. He was joined by Monster Kawasaki's Taylor Robert and GEICO Honda's Kevin Rookstool. Husqvarna's Cory Graffunder made a last second pass on Mike Brown to take forth while Brown held onto fifth.

Blazusiak had to work hard for the win as Rookstook beat him to the first turn and then led for several laps until he crashed while leading. By that point, Blazusiak had worked his way up to second after spending a few laps behind Destry Abbott. Then the battle for second was intense as Beta’s Cody Webb made his way to the front of the battle that included Rookstool, Abbott and Mike Brown. Robert had started the race in last after a first turn altercation but eventually took several riders to take second. Rookstool had intense pressure from Brown for the final podium spot when they both went down in separate incidents in the water hole. Rookstool got up first to get the spot and then Graffunder passed Brown right at the finish. Bobby Garrison finished sixth, Webb seventh after his crash, Gary Sutherlin eighth and Abbott ninth. Colton Haaker, the series point’s leader coming into Sacramento had a tough night after an early crash and then a stall put him a lap down and in tenth position. Geoff Aaron had a worse night after taking a long time to restart his machine and he finished eleventh in the main.

The day got started with the MVP Racing’s Hot Laps and KTM’s Taddy Blazusiak shocked everybody by jumping all the way over the five logs that made up the “Matrix” just in front of the finish line to set the fastest lap time. Haaker, the Las Vegas winner had the second fastest time just ahead of Beta’s Cody Webb. Abbott and Sutherlin rounded out the top five. The hot lap times earn you bragging rights and determines the gate picks for the heat races.

Blazusiak took over the points lead ahead of Haaker, Robert, Rookstool and Graffunder.

The evening also included the support classes. The Open Amateur class, which was won by Bryan Roper ahead of Tucker Larrieu and Tyler Murray. Canada’s Stephen Foord won the Vet class over Tod Sciacqua and Eric Ducray. Dirt Rider magazine Associate Editor Chris Green, won the TrialsCross class ahead of Dustin McCarthy Ty Tremaine.

The Women’s class had twelve riders and Louise Forsley won an exciting race over Chantelle Bykerk who took the lead on the last lap but then got stuck in the Matrix just in front of the finish line. Maria Forsberg had the lead for a short time before a crash took her out but she rebounded to fight back to third.

GEICO AMA EnduroCross, presented by Lucas Oil Sacramento Expert Results:

  1. Taddy Blazusiak            KTM

  2. Taylor Robert                Kawasaki

  3. Kevin Rookstool           Honda

  4. Cory Graffunder            Husqvarna

  5. Mike Brown                     KTM

  6. Bobby Garrison             Kawasaki

  7. Cody Webb                      Beta

  8. Gary Sutherlin               Kawasaki

  9. Destry Abbott               Kawasaki

  10. Colton Haaker               Kawasaki

  11. Geoff Aaron                    Honda

The X Games will host the next round of the GEICO EnduroCross Championship on Sunday, July 1st inside the Staples Center, in Los Angeles.

The X Games event will air live on ESPN networks and the remaining GEICO AMA EnduroCross events will be aired on the Lucas Motorsports Hour on the NBC Sports Network. Check your local listings or www.motorsportshour.com. The Sacramento round is scheduled to air on Saturday, July 8 at 5:00 pm EST.

Results and live timing and scoring are available at: http://endurocross.tracksideresults.com/class.asp?s=&c=&e=37.  For more information, go to www.EnduroCross.com.

2012 GEICO AMA EnduroCross Schedule

Location Date Arena / Additional Information
Las Vegas, NV May 4, 2012 Orleans Arena     (Friday during Supercross weekend)
Sacramento, CA June 9, 2012 Power Balance Pavilion
Los Angeles, CA July 1, 2012 Staples Center (X Games Expert Men and Women only)
Ontario, CA September 15, 2012 Citizens Business Bank Arena
Denver, CO October 6, 2012 National Western Complex
Everett, WA October 20, 2012 Comcast Arena
Boise, ID October 27, 2012 Idaho Center
Las Vegas, NV November 17, 2012 Orleans Arena

EnduroCross tracks incorporate various elements of extreme off road racing into a Supercross-style setting, including rocks, boulders, logs, sand, mud, a water-hole…and even a few special obstacles like giant tires thrown in!  Known as the "toughest racing on two wheels," this indoor off road racing will certainly keep you on your feet. For the seven EnduroCross events, be sure to log-on to www.motorsportshour.com for local air dates/times for the Lucas Motorsports Hour on the Versus network.

ENDUROCROSS is a registered trademark of Source Interlink Magazines, LLC.

For rules and race information visit www.EnduroCross.com or email endurocross@sorc.com.

_Source Interlink Media Motorsports:

Encompassing the highly successful GEICO AMA MiniMotoSX presented by Monster Energy, the GEICO AMA EnduroCross Championship Series, presented by Lucas Oil and the AMA EnduroCross Grand Championships, the Source Interlink Media Motorsports brands reach millions of motorcycle enthusiasts with live events, web sites, television and magazine coverage. Visit www.minimotosx.com or www.endurocross.com._


Source Interlink Media's GrindMedia is home to renowned action and adventure sports magazine brands Surfer, Surfing, Snowboarder, Skateboarder, Powder, Bike, Canoe & Kayak, SUP-Standup Paddler, Dirt Rider, ATV Rider, and Paved. Along with our standalone websites, including GrindTV.com, Newschoolers and Motocross.com, GrindMedia is the leading provider of print and online action sports and entertainment content in the United States. Delivering significant reach across both action sports enthusiast and various in-market consumer audiences, GrindMedia produces more than 20 leading events and webcasts such as Surfer Poll Awards, Powder Video Awards, Nike 6.0 Lowers Pro, EnduroCross and International Surfing Day. Grind Media is also the exclusive action and adventure sports content provider for Yahoo! Sports. To learn more, visit grindmedia.com.