Dirt Bike News - Mike Lafferty Wins Round 6 of the National Enduro Series - Dirt Rider Magazine

After a four-month hiatus from racing due to an injured knee, KTM's Mike Lafferty returned to the National Enduro Series on his KTM 250EXC and his winning ways by edging out rival Randy Hawkins 25-27. The Yamaha rider dueled with Lafferty to the end, but he didn't crack and held off Hawkins to take his first national win since September of 2003.A point behind in third was Lafferty's teammate David Lykke, who has been holding the KTM torch in Lafferty's absence. Husqvarna's Fred Hoess and KTM rider Rich Lafferty rounded out the top five overall.Series contender Steve Hatch had his day go bad when a wrong turn sent him back through a section of the course twice, ending his chances for a top placing. It was a serious downer to the good news for Hatch, who learned he had won his protest at the Georgia National Enduro in March and officially given credit for the overall win there.
Hawkins' second place finish nudges him ahead of series leader Lykke for the points lead. If the remaining three rounds are anything like it has been, the scrap for the title could last the rest of the season.Round 6 results:
1. Mike Lafferty (KTM)
2. Randy Hawkins (YAM)
3. David Lykke (KTM)
4. Fred Hoess (HUS)
5. Rich Lafferty (KTM)
6. Wally Palmer (SUZ)
7. Matt Stavish (HON)
8. Mark Hyde (KTM)
9. John Barber (GG)
10. Steven Reed (GG)

Randy Hawkins' second place finish put him in the points lead.
David Lykke has a chance at his first National Enduro Title if he can hold off Hawkins.
Star in the making, Wally Palmer finished sixth. Palmer will also be a team member at this year's ISDE.