Patterson Leads the WMA Championship - News - Dirt Rider Magazine

Round 4 of the AMA/WMA National Motocross Championship took place this past Saturday, July 30th, at the Washougal MX National in Washougal, WA. Jessica Patterson had a 1-1 moto sweep and stretched out her championship points lead.Staying true to the new Saturday race schedule at the Nationals, the WMA racers took over the track at 3:30pm for their first moto. The gate was held for a few minutes for Stefy Bau's bike. Her mechanical problems just continue. During practice a valve spring broke in her bikes engine. Unfortunately, her crew could not get the bike running before the start of the race. When the gate dropped, Jessica Patterson grabbed the holeshot, followed by Tarah Geiger, Tania Satchwell, and Sarah Whitmore. Geiger chased Patterson for two laps before passing her, only to stall shortly afterward in the S-turn after the ski jump surrendering the lead back to Patterson. She was unable to catch Patterson for the rest of the moto. The battle for third place was between Satchwell and Whitmore, who stayed close most of the moto. Whitmore finally caught Satchwell in the whoops and made the pass.Moto two took place at the end of the day after the men's qualifying races. Sherri Cruse edged out Bau for the holeshot, with Gieger close behind. Bau and Geiger got around Cruse and as the two headed up the old Hillsboro Hoops section of the track, Geiger swapped out and went down hard. Geiger was taken to a local hospital and released later with a fractured vertebrae. Bau then had the lead, but her bike was leaking oil from a pinched case gasket and she had to pull off in the mechanic's area. Patterson had been close behind Bau and now had the lead which was hers for the remainder of the moto. Whitmore was now in second and Satchwell in a close third. Again the race became about Whitmore and Satchwell and by lap five Satchwell got around Whitmore before the Chuck Sun jump.The overall went to Jessica Patterson, Tania Satchwell got second, and Sarah Whitmore got third.The final race of the WMA Championship will be at Steel City Raceway, Delmont, PA, September 3, 2005.Northgate Auto Bend, Oregon, Hitachi, Z1R Helmets, Honda, Kawasaki, Scott USA, Dunlop, Alpinestars, Sick Racing, VP Fuels, Thor MX, Mirage Trailers, Pro Clean, Ready Filter, Northwest Motorsports and Champion Wheel sponsor the WMA.