Podium success for Husqvarna and Salminen at EWC GP of Greece

BMW Husqvarna Motorsport Press Release

Podium success for Husqvarna and Salminen at EWC GP of Greece
BMW Husqvarna Motorsport rider Juha Salminen has made a successful return to racing after injury, claiming a runner-up result in the Enduro 2 class on day two of the GP of Greece. In doing so Juha gave Husqvarna's new TE449 machine it's first world championship podium result. Returning to action having been forced to sit out rounds three, four and five of the '10 EWC series following a foot injury, Salminen wasted no time in getting himself and his new machine up to speed and after placing a strong fourth in class on day one placed as a deserved runner-up on day two.

With temperatures above 40 degrees Celsius during both days of competition at the sixth round of the '10 Enduro World Championship the Greek event proved to be one of the championship's toughest to date. But for Salminen the extreme heat and dry conditions were no problem as the former seven-time world champion made light work of the event's varied and challenging special tests. Just over one-minute behind class winner Ivan Cervantes on day one Juha upped his game on day two to move to the second step of the podium and marked his return to racing in no uncertain terms.

Marko Tarkkala also delivered strong results for the BMW Husqvarna Motorsport team in Greece placing just outside the top 10 on day one and then in sixth on day two. Bad luck prevented Marko from finishing higher up the E2 class results on day one as the Finn damaged his rear brake lever on one of the extreme tests, which hampered his performance and lost him precious time. Bouncing back on day two Marko placed a strong sixth.
The BMW Husqvarna Motorsport team will next be in action in the Enduro World Championship at the GP of Turkey, which takes place on September 4/5.

Juha Salminen - Enduro 2 class: 'I'm pretty pleased with the way I've ridden this weekend. Firstly, it was good to be back racing again after such a long time off. The foot that I injured didn't give me any problems, but I certainly know I've ridden for two long days. The heat wasn't really a problem for me but the dust was pretty bad in places. I found it really difficult on the first lap on day one as I had to find my rhythm again. Once I was comfortable I could start pushing harder. I made a few small mistakes during the first lap on day two but otherwise everything went well. I had a good result on day two here last year and again this year it's been a good second day. Hopefully I can continue that in Turkey next weekend.'

Marko Tarkkala - Enduro 2 class: 'Although my result from day one wasn't so good generally I didn't have such a bad day. My one big problem was that I hit my rear brake pedal on something on one of the extreme tests and bent it really badly. I bent it underneath the foot peg and lost quite a lot of time. Apart from that the day went ok. It was very hot but it wasn't a problem for me. Day two was better. I made some small mistakes but I think all riders did on the enduro test. The important thing was to improve my result, which I did with sixth.'

**2010 Enduro World Championship
Grand Prix of Greece - Day 1

Enduro 2**
1. Ivan Cervantes (KTM) 54.57:82;
2. Mika Ahola (Honda) 54.59:07;
3. Pierre-Alexandre Renet (KTM) 56.09:14;
4. Juha Salminen (BMW Husqvarna Motorsport) 56.14:50;
5. Rodrig Thain (TM) 56.21:98;
6. Oscar Balletti (Honda) 56.51:33;
7. Fabrizio Dini (Beta) 57.05:76;
8. Thomas Oldrati (KTM) 57.13:76;
9. Marc Bourgeois (Husqvarna) 57.15:17;
10. Joakim Ljunggren (Husaberg) 57.25:11;
11. Marko Tarkkala (BMW Husqvarna Motorsport) 57.48:79;
12. Hans Vogels (Husaberg) 58.21:59;
13. Jordi Figueras (Gas Gas) 58.26:66;
14. Fabien Planet (Sherco) 58.35:39;
15. Jeff Goblet (Yamaha) 58.49:34;
16. Valtteri Salonen (Husaberg) 59.19.52;
17. Stamatios Mantas (KTM) 1:07.25:22;
18. Dimitris Tsakatasonis (KTM) 1:10.11:75;
19. Elefterios Panetis (Husaberg) 1.15:29.43

**2010 Enduro World Championship
Grand Prix of Greece - Day 2

Enduro 2**
1. Mika Ahola (Honda) 53.22:16;
2. Juha Salminen (BMW Husqvarna Motorsport) 55.01:89;
3. Pierre Alexandre Renet (KTM) 55.26:85;
4. Joakim Ljunggren (Husaberg) 55.39:45;
5. Oscar Balletti (Honda) 55.42:24;
6. Marko Tarkkala (BMW Husqvarna Motorsport) 55.46:52;
7. Hans Vogels (Husaberg) 56.19:58;
8. Ivan Cervantes (KTM) 56.35:81;
9 Fabien Planet (Sherco) 57.05:34;
10. Jordi Figueras (Gas Gas) 57.13:73;
11. Fabrizio Dini (Beta) 57.16:61;
12. Jeff Goblet (Yamaha) 57.30:84;
13. Valtteri Salonen (Husaberg) 57.34:05;
14. Thomas Oldrati (KTM) 58.35:11;
15. Marc Bourgeois (Husqvarna) 58.40:94;
16. Elefterios Panetis (Husaberg) 1:10.54:42