Monster Energy Supercross Results: St. Louis

Stewart Snaps Eight-Race Winless Streak with Big Win in St. Louis - Barcia Extends Points Lead with Win #3 - Monster Energy News Release

ST. LOUIS (April 9, 2011) - San Manuel Yamaha's James Stewart, of Haines City, Fla., scored the fourth win of his season tonight inside the Edward Jones Dome before 59,518 fans at the 14th stop of the Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship. GEICO Honda's Justin Barcia, of , Ochlocknee, Ga., extended his Eastern Regional Supercross Lites class points lead to 20 as he captured his third win of the season. Former Cardinals all-star Jim Edmonds was the ceremonial Grand Marshal.

Hart & Huntington/Dodge Motorsports' Ivan Tedesco, of Murrieta, Calif., led the field through turn one in the Supercross class, winning the Nuclear Cowboyz(r) Holeshot Award with Rockstar/Makita Suzuki's Ryan Dungey, of Belle Plaine, Minn., and Stewart in tow. Stewart made quick work of Tedesco, passing him on lap 2. At the start of lap 3, Dungey moved around Tedesco as Stewart began to extend his lead.

While riding in third place, Reed landed off the course, which allowed Monster Energy Kawasaki's Ryan Villopoto to take over the number-three position. Stewart held on for the win, snapping an eight-race winless streak. Dungey finished second and Villopoto third.

"It's been a while since I have been up here," said Stewart. "This feels great, and I am really happy for the team, who has been behind me 100% this year.

Villopoto leads Dungey in the championship points 275-270 over defending champion Dungey.

"I'll take a third place finish; it is much better than last year," said Villopoto, who suffered a season-ending injury last year in St. Louis. "I am looking forward to going to my hometown race next weekend in Seattle."

Barcia started the Supercross Lites class main event by picking up the Nuclear Cowboyz(r) holeshot with Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki's Blake Bagget and DNA/Shred Stick/Yamaha's Ryan Sipes following in second and third, respectively. Sipes quickly moved into second place on the opening lap, passing Bagget.

Barcia and Sipes traded positions on laps 2 and 3 before Barcia made the final pass and rode 12 perfect laps en route to the win. Sipes held on for second and Bagett finished third.

"Tonight was crazy," said Barcia. "I know that this championship is coming down to the wire, and I look forward to the final race in Las Vegas. It wasn't easy out there tonight. (Ryan) Sipes passed me out there, but I stayed focused and re-passed him."

Supercross Class Results: St. Louis

Supercross Class Season Standings

  1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki - 275

  2. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki - 270

  3. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Honda - 267

  4. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Yamaha - 259

  5. Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda - 255

  6. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM - 185

  7. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda - 165

  8. Davi Millsaps, Carlsbad, Calif., Yamaha - 143

  9. Justin Brayton, Cornelius, N.C, Yamaha - 141

  10. Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki - 114

Eastern Regional Supercross Lites Class Results: St. Louis

  1. Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda

  2. Ryan Sipes, Vine Grove, Ky., Yamaha

  3. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Kawasaki

  4. Dean Wilson, Menifee, Calif., Kawasaki

  5. Blake Wharton, Pilot Point, Texas, Honda

  6. Gannon Audette, Cairo, Ga. Yamaha

  7. Hunter Hewitt, Pilot Point, Texas, Suzuki

  8. Lance Vincent, Edgewood, N.M., Suzuki

  9. Les Smith, York, S.C., Honda

  10. Tyler Futrell, Clinton, N.C., Honda

Eastern Regional Supercross Lites Class Season Standings**

  1. Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda - 185

  2. Dean Wilson, Menifee, Calif., Kawasaki - 165

  3. Ryan Sipes, Vine Grove, Ky., Yamaha - 141

  4. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Kawasaki - 134

  5. Blake Wharton, Pilot Point, Texas, Honda - 125

  6. Matt Lemoine, Collinsville, Texas, Kawasaki - 105

  7. P.J. Larsen, Murrieta, Calif., KTM - 80

  8. Malcolm Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Suzuki - 73

  9. Lance Vincent, Youngsville, La., Honda - 69

  10. Hunter Hewitt, Pilot Point, Texas, Suzuki - 67

CBS Sports will broadcast the Supercross class at Noon EST tomorrow and SPEED will broadcast the Supercross Lites class at 6:00 p.m. EST. Racing continues next weekend at Seattle's Qwest Field.

For more information on the Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, please log on to For all media requests, please contact Denny Hartwig or 630-566-6305. To follow Monster Energy Supercross on Facebook and Twitter, log on to and

About Feld Motor Sports(r)

Feld Motor Sports(r), Inc. is the world leader in specialized arena and stadium-based motor sports entertainment. Feld Motor Sports, Inc. productions include Advance Auto Parts Monster Jam(r), Monster Energy Supercross, AMA Arenacross Series, Nuclear Cowboyz?, and IHRA(r) Nitro Jam(r). Feld Motor Sports, Inc. is a division of Feld Entertainment, the world's largest producer of live family entertainment. For more information on Feld Entertainment, visit